TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

We are now on a new server.....

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by danny, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Location:
    California
    I hope this improves the sites ability to be accessed.
    Thank you all for your patience.
     
  2. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    Yay!!

    Thank you for all the hard work!
     
  3. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    19,550
    Yes, thanks!
     
  4. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Location:
    California
    Apparently it may take about 48hours for everything to run smoothly for everyone.
     
  5. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,310
    It took a while for me to finally be able to log in and post. Might have had something to do with my moderator status. Only problem I see now is that I still get a "Moving Servers" message when visit the site with my Windows Mobile device.
     
  6. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,310
    I've determined that on my PDA I'm able to view URLs starting with "teslamotorsclub.com" fine where as "www.teslamotorsclub.com" URLs all go to a "Moving servers" message. The problem is most links to threads start with the "www" and in order to read anything, I have to edit out the "www." manually each time. Would be nice if we can get this fixed.
     
  7. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,944
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    I found that last night I went back to the "moving servers" message on my DSL line, but my 3G UMTS connection was working. However the 3G connection doesn't allow Flickr viewing (adult content apparently) and I was getting fed up with switching between them.

    I solved it by adding this to my LMHOSTS file:

    Code:
    64.22.96.78	www.teslamotorsclub.com	#PRE
    64.22.96.78	teslamotorsclub.com	#PRE

    Then stop and start the network connection / flush DNS (this is on Vista, your mileage may vary on other OSes).

    Now I am resolving the new server every time.
     
  8. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    19,550
    Usually this behavior is browser and/or DNS cache with stale info.

    On Windows, one can do "ipconfig /flushdns" in a cmd window.
    (start->run->"cmd", then type "ipconfig /flushdns")

    When in the browser, if I suspect a stale page I hold down special keys while pressing the reload button to force a fresh download and bypass the cache.
     
  9. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,944
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    That will work if your ISP's DNS has been updated, but it too may have stale info. The TTL for this domain is 86400 seconds, aka a day. The hosts file trick gets around that scenario.
     
  10. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    You guys are speaking a foreign language.

    Wonder if finky can translate it for me?
     
  11. Cobos

    Cobos S60 Owner since 2013 - sold, S85D owner since 2017

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    For the non-techical savvy people it translates to just wait a few days and it should sort itself out :)

    Cobos
     
  12. domenick

    domenick Nerd

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    Florida
    それわとてもおかしです!!!
     
  13. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,310
    Not to be a Japanese grammar stickler, but that particle should really be written as "ha" even though it's pronounced "wa". (Sorry for the romaji. I don't have an Asian language input editor installed on this particular computer.)
     
  14. domenick

    domenick Nerd

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    Florida
    それはとてもおかしです!!!

    Crap. er, I mean そだた.

    I'm a little out of practice.
     
  15. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,310
    Some strange problems with the site today. Server issues?
     
  16. danny

    danny Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Location:
    California
    It is a server problem. I will try to get it fixed now.
    Thanks
     
  17. ChargeIt!

    ChargeIt! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    619
    I've had trouble all day today getting to the top level ("teslamotorsclub.com"). I thought the entire site was down (again), when by co-incidence -- rather than picking my usual shortcut to top-level -- I typed directly into the browser's address bar and picked a topic of the previous entries cached there. It worked. Long story short ... eventually I figured out that only the top level is "broken". But it's very hard to get to the discussion hierarchy without starting at the top. If I click on the top level (in FF 2.0.xxx) a window pops up like so:

    Ooops ... can't upload attachments ... lots of error messages ...

    Anyway, it says in the pop-up "You have chosen to open" lots of blank space, then "which is a: application/x-httpd-php" and "from: http://www.teslamotorsclub.com" and "What should Firefox do with this file?" and it offers to "Save to Disk".

    Similar result in IE7, in addition giving a file size of 35.3KB.

    (It was pretty hard navigating to this thread without starting at the top!)

    Any clue what's happening ?
     
  18. domenick

    domenick Nerd

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    Florida
    I can't upload attachments either. Tried FF and IE and got an error...

    Warning: is_dir() [function.is-dir]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/home/dsacks7/attachments/7/5/4) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/dsacks6:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp) in /includes/functions_file.php on line 60
     
  19. ChargeIt!

    ChargeIt! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    619
    #19 ChargeIt!, Sep 1, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
    More Trouble ...

    Yeah ... those error messages look familiar (from my attempts last night).

    I still can not get to the "top level" ... but I have now "discovered" a feature I've not used before: the "Forum Jump" scroll list (at bottom right of pages) ... It does not fix the issue, but it band-aids the problem and give me back my daily dose of TMC :smile: More addictive than caffeine !

    Hopefully the "top level" problem "goes away" too ...

    Update: I am now also having the "top level" symptoms with this link: News, Articles and Events - Tesla Motors Club Forum
     
  20. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,944
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    I had this until I cleared all the cached content in Firefox. Try that.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC