TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Web Browser Issues

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by AC1K, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. AC1K

    AC1K Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta Canada
    not sure about the rest of you but the web browser is the worst crap ive ever used for a browser.

    forget about google docs (froze so bad i had to hard reset the entire panel)
    freezes on facebook
    freezes on ingress intel map (this one is a little extreme but even my old galaxy nexus could render it without dying)
    freezes on gmail
    freezes on G+
    i havent tried alot of sites becuase its too painful to browse

    barely loads any store webfronts (bestbuy, futureshop, staples, etc, etc)
    barely loads the teslamotors.com home page, forget about scrolling smoothly
    cannot scroll on plug share
    pinch to zoom is only zooming the page, but not zooming the map tiles on some pages

    searching anything is slow and near useless, now, the CPU that powers the panel is a nVidia Tegra 3 most likely running at 1-1.3GHz, this is the same CPU running inside of the Microsoft Surface Rt and Asus Nexus 7, neither of those tablets have issues bringing up any of the web pages listed above, infact browsing on the Nexus 7 with chrome is fast and very usable.

    however i understand this is more or less a first gen product, i guess tesla has alot of rework to do for a usable browser. i'm wondering if they couldn't just port chrome over, i understand the Os is just Linux, chrome is already available for any Os platform.
     
  2. Stoneymonster

    Stoneymonster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Aptos, Ca
    The browser is WebKit, specifically a QtWebkit instance. I suspect they just grabbed a QWebView object and dropped it in without much additional work.
    My feeling is that the browser is there for convenience, but it is not a high priority for them to improve much. There are certainly things much higher on my list that I'd hope they would get to before improving the browser. You may feel differently.
     
  3. Vger

    Vger Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
    I agree with both points of view here-- it is crap, the car deserves and I want and would use a better product, but it is not a priority, and I do not hold my breath on it being fixed.
     
  4. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    There's a $1,500 retrofit coming to install a better browser.

    - - - Updated - - -

    KIDDING!
     
  5. mckemie

    mckemie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Dale, Texas
    I use my browser with fair results for gmail and finance.google.com. I have had to reboot several times when the browser becomes non-responsive. One tip: Don't try to do anything while a page is loading as indicated by the blue bar in the URL window. Also, the browser performs very poorly when cell phone signal is low. As one might expect.

    A USB keyboard can make text input much easier. A USB mouse seems to do nothing.

    I am THRILLED to have any browser!
     
  6. Colasec

    Colasec Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    SoCal
    With .61 my browser freezes and requires a display reboot with any popups.

    I've found that the mobile versions of most sites have slightly more workable functionality.

    Still haven't found a good solution for Gmail. Later I'll try "basic HTML" mode.
     
  7. wts13

    wts13 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Southern California
    I hope they get around to the browser eventually. It's quite honestly, a mess.

    That an the gross tiled Google Maps which need to be moved to vector, ASAP.

    Tesla still has by far the best overall infotainment system, but it's not without its flaws.

    I have faith that the Tegra 3 provides enough juice to bring decent performance when Tesla gets around to optimizing its software.
     
  8. J in MN

    J in MN S60 P12635

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Minnesota
  9. TommyBoy

    TommyBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    It's like the web browser on the PS3. Nice to know it's there but probably not worth using....
     
  10. AC1K

    AC1K Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta Canada
    agreed with the lower priority, there are many more things that should be higher in the fix list. But when they do get around to it, i hope they will vastly improve the performance and functionality.
     
  11. Suntronics

    Suntronics P267 VIN17995

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    sam problems on fiormware 5, i only have the car 1 day :) How do you reboot the browser or entire screen ?

    thx
     
  12. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Hold down both scroll wheels on the wheel at the same time. Count to approximately 85, using a step of 17. (Or count to 5, using a step of 1.)
     
  13. Suntronics

    Suntronics P267 VIN17995

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    thx, the 85 didit :)
     
  14. Argelius

    Argelius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    Well, this is disappointing to find out. (I'm still 3 weeks out from delivery). Alas, not even remotely a deal-breaker....but it never occurred to me the browser would be so bad, in such an awesome car...
     
  15. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,743
    Location:
    Texas
    I've looked at the browser about three times in 10,000 miles not counting showing it at events (where it's just on the Tesla weather page). Work well or not is pretty much a non-issue.
     
  16. EarlyAdopter

    EarlyAdopter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,494
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Out of curiosity, does anyone even care there's a browser there? I never use it and would just as well it not be there at all.
     
  17. Denarius

    Denarius Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Location:
    Utah
    I've only used it to load teslamotors.com to show people what the battery pack looks like when I demo the car.
     
  18. tomanik

    tomanik Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Canada
    On wifi I find the browser at least livable. Still has a hard time with heavy pages but usable, barely.
     
  19. Puyallup Bill

    Puyallup Bill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Puyallup WA
    Interesting. I usually have my iPad in the car when I know I will have some wait time, but today I forgot to bring it and was waiting for my wife who was at a medical appointment.

    Preferred to use a dinky Android phone screen rather than the Tesla browser that is slow and hard to read with bi-vocals.

    Not useless, but not terribly useful.
     
  20. texex91

    texex91 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    hell
    If you do the two button 'reset' of the screen, does it delete your settings (homelink, slacker, profile, etc)?
     

Share This Page