TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

What are my options?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by leepere, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. leepere

    leepere Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ft Myers
    Hey guys,

    So I recently replaced the instrument cluster in my model s with another salvaged instrument cluster due to the bubbling issue so many of us have experienced. (was out of warranty)

    I was told to wait for a software update to install, which I did. However the instrument cluster seems to still be tied to the old car and after applying update says "Software Update Required - Contact Tesla Service" on the bottom of the instrument cluster. The update also told me on the MCU it had failed.

    What are my options here and how do I essentially "pair" this instrument cluster to the car? It still actually shows the old salvaged Tesla car name on the instrument cluster...

    Thank you for any help or context you can provide.
     
  2. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    Location:
    US
    The instrument cluster message is likely due to the firmware not matching on your MCU and IC.

    I would start by going into dev/diag mode and seeing what error messages you have. Have never needed to do a redeploy like this, but if I had to guess I’d say swapping out the SD cards that contain the carkeys/vin/etc from old MCU to new might be a good place to start.

    You may need toolbox (which tesla doesn’t share) or root access to really properly pair the new MCU with the car...

    Have you reached out to the local service center to see if they would be willing to do a redeploy/re-pair for you if you pay for an hour or two of labor?
     
  3. leepere

    leepere Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ft Myers
    Thank you very much for the response appleguru. I am not sure how to get into the dev/diag mode. I have a remote tech coming out next week as I told him the update failed in hopes they would just fix it... By your comment my guess is they will figure out very quickly that its not the right cluster and it wasnt the updates fault?
     
    • Like x 1
  4. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    Location:
    US
    I guess you’ll find out :p
     
    • Like x 1
  5. leepere

    leepere Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ft Myers
    As an FYI to all that come across the same issue as mine. I asked Tesla to force an update and I was good.
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Like x 3
  6. DeafRabbit

    DeafRabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Did they force the update over the air? What exactly did you tell them you needed on the phone?
     
  7. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    Location:
    US
    Just ask them to push a firmware update to your car. As long as the IC isn’t on ancient firmware a redeploy or an update should get the MCU and IC on the same version.

    If the IC is on much older firmware than the MCU, some manual work may be needed...
     
    • Helpful x 1
  8. DeafRabbit

    DeafRabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Got it to work! Actually took 2 updates, the first one that I already had waiting got the screen to come on and it took another firmware push from tesla to get it on the same version. Thanks!
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  9. Shadious

    Shadious Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Florida
    I am about to purchase a replacement cluster from a newer model S. Just to be sure, your car now matches up the IC with the MCU and there are still no issues after the most recent updates? Did you just wait on the installation until a new update was available and then install the screen? Sorry if I am being overly basic, but this seems too good to be true!
     
  10. Dithermaster

    Dithermaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    I'm curious which piece of equipment keeps track of total miles. In the old days it was the physical odometer in the dashboard, but I'm assuming if you replace the IC in a Model S/X the mileage stays correct. What if you replace the MCU?
     
  11. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AZ
    MCU stores it, as does tesla which can update it remotely if you try and fiddle with it.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. whitex

    whitex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Seattle area, WA
    1. So replacing your MCU with a newer one rolls back your odometer, as long as you don't let it connect to Tesla?
    2. So if their database gets corrupt like the recent options database (thread here), Tesla car mileages around the world will start auto adjusting to what their database says?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC