Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

What are the alternatives to Tesla SC's?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm new to EV's and collect my P90D next week.

I'm aware of the Ecotricity network and their newly introduced £6 charge for 30 mins, but what other non-Tesla charging alternatives are there and how extensive are the networks?

Thanks,
Dom.

Hi Dom

Congratulations on your purchase.

Pretty much every service station on the motorway has EV charging points. They seem to be from a variety of networks. Personally I've never used them. Partly because when I've wanted to use them I didn't have the right account setup and that couldn't be done on the fly.

That being said I've found that it is very rare that I need to use SuperChargers let alone 3rd party networks. Not because I don't travel long distances, but because most of the time I can get to my destination on a single charge and then refill over night on the 13 amp 3 pin sockets. Over the course of a couple of nights on a weekend away I've got myself a full tank again, enough to get back home.

Obviously everyones driving habits are different, but you might find that you actually need to charge en route less than you first imagined.

PlugShare is a good website/app that shows you all the public charging points. I think there are a few others.
ChargeMaster has their own network also.

Enjoy your Tesla

Alex

Hi Dom,

Ecotricity have a monopoly on motorway service areas, apart from some Welcome Break sites that Tesla are now building Superchargers at. Off the motorway, it's a patchwork of regional operators, each with their own infrastructure and tariffs. There is pretty good coverage across the UK. Some of them require you to have a card, some allow ad-hoc payments. There's a helpful summary here: Public charging networks - Plugged-in Places - Electric cars