TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

What gauge wire for HPWC install?

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by BigAirHarper, Jul 1, 2016.

  1. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    What size wire has everyone been using for their HPWC install? The manual says #2 copper but that seems overkill. In the top entry extended back they shipped with the charger it only had #4 copper. I was thinking of getting #3 copper just to be safe.
     
  2. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,665
    Location:
    Virginia
    I used 2 because it was cheaper than 4. You maybe surmised if you check out the prices
     
  3. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    Yea I've been mulling over those charts for a while now. The wire is rated 90* but apparently it depends on the "ratings" of what it is connected to. I could go to 4 gauge if I could use the 90* column. Or 2* if I have to use the 60* column. Also, I've read that cars qualify as "continuous load" so the max is 80% of the rating.
     
  4. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
  5. aesculus

    aesculus Still Trying to Figure this All Out

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,981
    Location:
    Northern California
    All I know is that #2 was a PITA to install on the connector board inside the charger. Had to connect the wires into the charger first and then run them back into the conduit.
     
  6. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    I can imagine. That's why I'm hoping to go with #4. Or maybe even #3.
     
  7. ABCCBA

    ABCCBA Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Somewhere
    @BigAirHarper Here are a couple ideas:

    1. Use what Tesla recommends
    2. Call a local electrician and get a free quote and ask them to recommend a properly sized circuit for your load

    Also, remember this. An undersized conductor that has too much current quickly becomes a heating element and then a fuse.

    In other words, electricity is nothing to mess with. Voltage Shocks, Current Kills!

    0.01 Amps will stop your heart
    10 Amps or more on an undersized conductor will burn your house down

    Hope that scares the crap out of you to not question the recommended conductor size for a particular amperage.

    This has been said in a caring, not sarcastic or mean way.

    Please get professional technical help if you are going to question Tesla or the NEC.

    Mike

     
  8. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,665
    Location:
    Virginia
  9. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    Mike I am taking it very seriously. My electrician that installed my new sub panel and 50A outlet wanted to use #6 and that sounded too small based on what I had read online. So I'm doing my due diligence and also shopping for a new electrician.
     
  10. 182RG

    182RG Free The Service Manuals From Tyranny

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Virginia
    For 50A, #6 is correct. With the HPWC, you are limiting yourself by going with this small of a breaker, unless you are plugging your HPWC into a NEMA 14-50 outlet. The HPWC will handle a 100A breaker, which should utilize #2 wire in conduit.
     
    • Like x 2
  11. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    Yea I'm going to go with #2 that way I have full power if ever needed. 50A will likely be all I ever need but ya know, nothing like over engineering a situation.

    BTW I wish I could get my hands on a 182RG to fly. Still having to rent a 172 but currently looking at SR22 to maybe buy with a partner :)
     

Share This Page