TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

What to do if (epic?) short squeeze takes place?

Discussion in 'TSLA Investor Discussions' started by Bonken, Apr 25, 2013.

1. Bonken

Bonken Member

What should longs do if the potential short squeeze finally materializes? Should we try to time the peak and then sell or whats the best strategy? What does normally take place after a short squeeze, does the stock start to tumble back to around 40 again or does it stay at elevated levels? Im relatively new to this so thank you all for your input!

2. DonPedro

DonPedro Member

My few points on this:
    1. Anyone who pretends to know is lying.
    2. By definition, only a few of us will hit the peak.
    3. Everyone else will be second-guessing their decisions afterwards.

A short squeeze may be highly visible (Google the VW/Porsche squeeze). Or it can just be an "extra boost" to the share during a given period that is indistinguishable from rising on positive news and sentiment (until afterwards, at least). To hit the peak you would have to know at which prices the various shorts will be forced to cover, and be able to follow short interest in real time. Obviously we have little of this information.

3. avatar

#3 avatar, Apr 25, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
    There is one theory on this board that the "squeeze" will be more like a hug than a squeeze over several months that will force out the shorts with a gradual rise in price. I find this hard to believe with such a high number of shorts. I am more inclined to believe that there will be a very disorderly unwinding of short positions. I expect several circuit breakers to fire and halt trading when all this comes to a climax.

Updated: