TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Where do my feet go during autopilot?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by sbtz, Oct 8, 2016.

1. sbtz

sbtz Member

Yeah, I know it sounds silly, and maybe it'll change as I learn to trust Autopilot... but where are my feet supposed to go when Autopilot is enabled? Right now (day two), I have my foot hovering over the brake pedal - for obvious reasons, this is fatiguing and probably not ideal. I'd hate to have both my feet back if I have to brake hard.

2. outie

outie Member

I know what you mean. As an AP beginner I am still hovering my feet over the brake / accel pedal (as if I am not using AP) and it does get tired after a short while. If the road condition is clear / good I just rest the feet on the floor though. I would like to hear what others do.

3. BluestarE3

BluestarE3 Active Member

Where do feet go while using standard cruise control?

• Like x 2
  4. WannabeOwner

WannabeOwner Member

In the Golf I had a right-foot-rest, neatly placed that I could easily move foot to Accelerator or Brake (as well as a left-foot rest, which might only be a stick-shift thing). Used it whenever I was on cruise control.

Personally I'd like to have that in the MS too.

• Like x 1
  5. LastGas

LastGas Member

Just put it somewhere comfortable.

6. Neuromancer

Neuromancer Member

Mine are usually kicked up on the dash. Alcantara feels so nice against the soles of your feet.

I kid. AP police please stand down.

• Funny x 7
  7. Plug Life

Plug Life Member

Out of the window?

• Funny x 1
  8. Todd Burch

Todd Burch Electron Pilot

If I'm near other heavy traffic I'll keep it resting lightly on the accelerator (but not pressing it), just as if I were driving manually. That way I can get to the brake like normal if needed.