TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Where is the front radar on HW2 cars located?

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by xsi123, Mar 12, 2017.

  1. xsi123

    xsi123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    MA
    Today I was trying to enable autopilot on my HW2 car (17.9.3) and I was getting on and off error "Reduced front radar visibility". We had a bit of snow in the area but not much. I looked in front of the car but I couldn't exactly locate where the front radar is. Are there any pictures showing the front radar on a HW2 car?
     
    • Informative x 1
  2. ThisIsTrue

    ThisIsTrue Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    'Western Slope' Colorado
  3. dsnows

    dsnows Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    When I took delivery a week ago, I was told it was to the right of the license plate, looking at the car from the front.
     
  4. SlyWombat

    SlyWombat Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON, CA
    But the fact that the forward radar does not work when it is snowing is classic California development. I have only around 2000 miles on my HW2 car and I have had three occasions in which my cruise control is completely disabled, so on a long trip, zero cruise control. At least on older cars you had the fall back of old fashion set your cruise at X. Now without forward radar, you get nothing. no-cruise.JPG no-cruise-front1.JPG
     
  5. Chrisizzle

    Chrisizzle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, canada
    Search is your friend?
    That's ironically condescending considering 'people who search' are just people who failed to read the manual.

    I only have AP1 and the manual shows mine to be behind the bumper to the right (passenger side) of the grill. I assume your owner's manual would show where AP2 radar is located.
     
  6. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    12,555
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    The same radar problem when ice accumulates on the front bumper will occur on other cars that use forward radar, no matter where they were designed. The radar really doesn't care. It has limitations.
     
  7. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    Your location is an improvement as compared to the gen 1 cars.
    iced radar.JPG
     
  8. BestRadar

    BestRadar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    NJ
    I agree this is a poor design. They should enable standard cruise if the radar antenna is blocked. I also have 2000 miles on my HW2 vehicle and I find more and more how poor the design of many functions are. Why they use cameras for everything is beyond me. There is no reason they cant have a simple rain sensor for windshield wipers, etc. They reply on cameras to do everything which is why we still cant get automatic high beams to work also.
     
  9. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,297
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    The reason why you can't use regular CC when radar is blocked is because, frankly, that would require someone at Tesla to use common sense.
     
    • Disagree x 1
  10. thimel

    thimel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    408
    It could be a conscious safety decision. They could be concerned users are so used to TACC that they will neglect to slow down when approaching a car in front and hence have an accident.
     
    • Like x 1
  11. bjornb

    bjornb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Norway
    I agree. On my previous car (an Audi) with ACC the same happened, no CC at all when the radar sensor was blocked by snow (which didnt happen very often since the sensor had a heating element).
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    12,555
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    I was thinking the same thing. I think Tesla deliberately does not enable standard CC if TACC is not available because owners used to TACC may forget that they are on standard CC and therefore think the car will behave in a way that it actually will not, with possible serious adverse consequences.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. Chrisizzle

    Chrisizzle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, canada
    Agree that it would be nice if normal cruise would work but also agree with above assumptions that some moron would forget they are on basic cruise and not brake.

    You can always pull over and clear your bumper of snow to get radar back... but that would require someone driving to use common sense.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. bishoppeak

    bishoppeak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Should you really be using CC at all if conditions are bad enough to block the radar?
     
    • Like x 2
  15. dsnows

    dsnows Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    I had the same problem 2 days ago driving during a snow shower. After stopping and wiping off the front bumper, it worked normally again. I was a little surprised at how little snow it took to disable the radar, similar to your photo.

    I agree we should have the option of "dumb" cruise control when needed.
     
  16. bjornb

    bjornb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Norway
    No cruise for me today, the layer of snow was perhaps 3mm thick:
    IMG_0967.JPG
     
  17. lunitiks

    lunitiks Memba

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Norway
    I think the "upgrade" from non-facelift to facelift S (or X) radar placement is purely cosmetic. My non-facelift radar has a heating element that automatically turns on when the outside temp. goes below 5 or 4 celcius. You can both see and feel it's working.

    Same problem however: Enter some snowy mowie and you're out; it only clears the actual surface of the radar and perhaps a millimeter or so. The facelift MS / X is the same thing except the radar has no heater but is conceiled behind the thin metal sheet nose panel.

    It'll probably be the same on M3
     
  18. SlyWombat

    SlyWombat Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON, CA
    True, but you need to solve the problem, either have a wiper on it, or a heater, or inflatable flex cover, aircraft have de-icing abilities for leading edges. Or let me set good old dumb cruise control when this occurs.
     
  19. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I disagree that it's cosmetic. On the old pre-facelift radar placement (which is also used in the Audi A3 that uses the same sensor) its concavity made it extra prone to large insects accumulating and getting stuck in the area, along with other forms of dirt / grime / debris. I do agree that the heating element worked better, but it's more of a huge oversight that the facelift bumper patch isn't heated. I think placing it behind a bumper section does have its benefits.
     
  20. Snowstorm

    Snowstorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Does the fact that the UI message say front radar implies that the design at one point in the past (or future) call for additional radars?
     

Share This Page