TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Why does Tesla not provide Dash Cams?

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Minime, May 8, 2017.

1. Minime

Minime Member

I apologize if this question seem ignorant. I am new to the Tesla family and to this forum. I'd always wondered why a company as technical as Tesla don't simply provide front and rear dash cams as factory standard or options? Thanks for the education.

• Like x 4
  2. ggielen

ggielen Member

Or maybe just allow to record the vehicle cameras' imagery? There's already 8 cameras on the car, might as well just tap into those instead of adding two more..

• Like x 4
  3. kort677

kort677 Active Member

could it be because they add more cost to the car and most people really don't want one?

4. chillaban

chillaban Active Member

There's also jurisdiction-to-jurisdiction legal concerns about dashcams, particularly if the recording happens on private property, or there are children being recorded. Plus, some drivers do not want dashcam footage because it could potentially be self-incriminating and not everyone desires full honesty in such situations.

• Disagree x 1
  5. TexasEV

TexasEV Well-Known Member

Tesla has limited bandwidth and that's not one of the priorities. It wouldn't even make the top 100.

• Like x 1
  6. Minime

Minime Member

Definitely can't be cost issues. And anyone not wishing to record can simply turn off the feature, like bluetooth or wifi on a phone.

I agree with the legal concerns. That seems most plausible. No car makers seem to provide this relatively simple technology. Then why are aftermarket cams exempt?

7. BrettS

BrettS Member