TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Why is my HPWC red instead of green?

Discussion in 'Model X: Battery & Charging' started by SSD420, Jul 10, 2016.

  1. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    image.jpeg Ive owned my Model X for two days. Used my HPWC three times. I just got home and instead of shining green it's shining red (see pic). Is this bad? What does it mean?
     
  2. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    :(:(I switched the switch in the breaker installed next to the HPWC off and then on again. Tried that. Went to a moving green and my car charge port turned orange. My app showed it charging at a mere 16A.

    I proceeded to unplug the charger and plug it back in and now it's working again. I'm at 72A.

    Can anyone explain what happened? Or what I did wrong?

    And of course I'm still in love :D in my Model X (even though it got its first scratch, totally my fault :()
     
  3. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I always pray that my first scratch is a little one. Then I know the car will be OK. I've had some big first scratches...those por car souls. They tried. But it just wasn't their time...
     
  4. araxara

    araxara S-P85#3,218 X-90D#3,299

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  5. commasign

    commasign Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Cylons? K.I.T.T.?

    j/k. Did you try pressing the reset button on the left side of the HPWC?
     
    • Like x 1
  6. xkwizit

    xkwizit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Folsom, CA, United States
    Just press the reset and it will clear it out.
     
  7. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    There's a reset button?
     
  8. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Yes, it's the new one.
     
  9. commasign

    commasign Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Yes. This one.

    image.jpeg

    OMG. This literally looks like a Cylon's head especially if the light is red.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny x 1
  10. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Thanks guys
     
  11. ProtoMM

    ProtoMM Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    It may go without saying, but just in case... If this happens more than once in a very great while, you should get the electrician back to fix things. Routinely clearing a detected electrical fault wouldn't be good.
     
  12. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What would you consider to be a "great while?"

    It was installed about 10 days before I took delivery and installed by the Tesla recommended electricians. How many times does this need to happen until I should get the electricians back?
     
  13. X Fan

    X Fan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Naples, FL & OIB, NC
    If was me, one more time.

    Old one has worked flawless for me since installation....
     
    • Love x 1
  14. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,529
    Location:
    PA
    It's a cylon. I hope everyone is watching The 100. The AI reminds me of Caprica.
     
  15. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The 100 is great!
     
  16. vandacca

    vandacca Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,961
    Location:
    Hamilton
    #16 vandacca, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
    I have the same issue and I have contacted Tesla. Whenever power is applied, it goes through the startup sequence and finishes with a solid red light. The manual says, don't retry and contact Tesla immediately. They sent over an Electrician and the install was fine, but they were concerned about proper grounding at my main panel. They "addressed" the grounding, but it didn't help.

    I can hold down the reset for 2 seconds and I get a green light too. However, the electrician's current plan is to get a new WC and swap it out. I'll wait and see if that helps.
     
  17. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,529
    Location:
    PA
    I wouldn't go that far... Season 1 and 2 were rocky, but Clarke is a bad ass and I love her for it.
     
  18. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You're not all caught up?
     
  19. SSD420

    SSD420 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I'll see what happens this week and monitor it. If it continues to happen. I'll contact tesla.
     
  20. SMSMD

    SMSMD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    why dont you call your electrician and see if the L1, L2/N and GND are tightly screwed , had read on the forum someone had a similar problem and the it was loose screws on the conductors. Check dial settings on the left side to the correct breaker size you are using and make sure the DIP switch is DOWN (1) and UP (2) upload_2016-7-12_0-12-22.png
     

Share This Page