Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wifi - explanation for poor reception?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've searched and read all the threads on people with model 3s and wifi issues, and have never had any success in getting mine to reliably connect, since day one. In fact, I've had a service ticket in for 2 months now over it. Yesterday the mobile tech finally made it out, so i thought I'd document some of what we found.

Background - I work in the consumer electronics industry and do a lot of work specifically with and around wifi and wifi testing. My home currently has 5 hardwired access points. 3 ubiquiti unifi, an Asus RT-AC68U, and an xfinity DOCISS 3.1. The unifi is my primary system, I use the Asus for testing, and comcast refuses to allow you to disable the xfinity. I have a unifi AP ~18 feet from where my car is parked, mounted to the ceiling, with one wall between. The ASUS is about 30 feet away, through 2 walls.

The car, since I took delivery, has been unable to see ANY of my APs. Sitting in the car, using my phone (OnePlus 6T), i can see 12 APs (neighbors + my own) with decent signal level. I could get it to tether to my phone with the phone in the car, with poor signal.