TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Wifi... the saga continues

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by enolam, Feb 15, 2019.

?

Does your M3's WiFi work consistently at home?

  1. YES

    72.3%
  2. NO

    27.7%
  1. enolam

    enolam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    San Diego
    I've posted my frustrations with the Wifi in the past and my car even had it's "connectivity board" replaced to "fix" the problem. After the fix, it connected so I pretty much forgot about Wifi issues and moved on. Since I know new updates are coming, I thought I'd check in on my Wifi. When I pull into my garage (which has a strong signal with 2 of our home Wifi's), nothing. It stays on LTE. When I click on Wifi, sometimes is actually "off" which is odd, since I've had it set to be on. If I turn it on, it says "connecting" and just cycles for a couple of minutes then nothing... showing LTE only. WTH? Has anyone else experienced this? Any solution?
     
  2. happyzod

    happyzod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    New England
    LOL yes. I will never be able to get maps.
     
  3. enolam

    enolam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    San Diego
    What do you mean you will never be able to get "maps"?
     
  4. DJung

    DJung Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    California
    Navigation and Maps updates happen via WiFi only. Not the maps that you see on the screen (which is just Google Maps), the onboard maps system used for lane guidance, navigation, and NoA.
     
  5. enolam

    enolam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    San Diego
    Got it! How would I know if I have the most updated maps?
     
  6. DJung

    DJung Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    California
    It does it silently in the background so you wouldn't know if had been updated or not. But you will get a prompt if it doesn't update, telling you to join a WiFi network so maps can be downloaded.

    Or you can monitor network traffic on your router to see if your car is downloading huge files.
     
  7. robski

    robski Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Bay Area
    A reboot is worth a shot. Also try enabling a hotspot on your phone while you're in your car, then try to connect to it. At least you will know your kids didn't lock you out of the router.
     
  8. PoitNarf

    PoitNarf My dog's breath smells like dog food

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,746
    Location:
    NJ
    Have you tried removing and re-adding the network from the WiFi settings? Is your SSID hidden? What are your network settings? Using WPA2 I hope. Is this a 2.4 or 5GHz network? Any problems connecting with another device in your garage? Have you tried rebooting your wireless access point? Is the access point running the latest firmware?
     
  9. Oldschool496

    Oldschool496 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Florida
    I think this is common, its something that is talked about quite a bit in the past. My car does the exact same thing.

    I have had my S for 2.5 years, I have never been able to lock onto my WIFI visibly, manually ever in front of me. Although it gets/got updates in the past, lately though I wonder if updates are not coming. This past weekend I tried everything in the book to get it to manually lock onto WIFI.

    It won't do it that way. I have to assume it does it at night on its own, or its not doing it at all. Updating used to come by LTE, then at some point I read all future updates come by WIFI only.

    Its a stumper. Version 9 of which Model 3 already runs only came to me via scheduled service it was in for back in November, later than most people got it.
     
    • Like x 2
  10. devilmountain

    devilmountain Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Walnut Creek
    My advice is to directly wire your wifi equipment if it is not. Some people use wireless access points in repeater mode, and they aren't the best. Even if you have to use powerline ethernet equipment to wire wifi access points to the network. Try to connect to 2.4 GHz, I don't know if the car can see 5Ghz or not, but I still see lots of products that don't have a 5GHz radio in them. My son's Nintendo Switch wouldn't connect to 5GHz, and we had to put it on 2.4.

    Do you live in a dense housing complex? If so, try driving to a parking lot and connecting your car to your phone or another hotspot. I have seen people jamming Wifi signal in dense housing situations. Sometimes you could connect, and other times you could not connect. This person didn't realize what they were doing to their neighbors when I finally tracked this person down.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  11. Magnets!

    Magnets! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    California
    Oldschool above is correct. Model 3 is not like your phone or other devices that lock onto and stay on wifi 24/7. The computer wakes up and connects when it needs to otherwise it is on LTE. If the wifi radio remained on 24/7 people would be whining about phantom drain.
     
    • Like x 1
  12. caskater47

    caskater47 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I live in a condo with a subterranean garage. There's 3ft of concrete and rebar between my car and my wifi. So wifi doesn't work at all for me. Be fortunate you even have signal at all?
     
    • Like x 1
  13. TeeEmCee

    TeeEmCee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    901
    Location:
    Null
    I don't think there's merit to this argument. I'm going to hazard a guess and say that staying latched to a short-range radio like WiFi must consume less or about the same amount of energy as staying connected to a remote LTE tower. Furthermore, given how little energy a phone spends on staying connected to WiFi, surely a Tesla can afford to stay connected all the time. Even if it chose not to remain connected to WiFi, phones connect to and disconnect from WiFi all the time, it's not exactly a challenge.
     
  14. Magnets!

    Magnets! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    California
    Well, there is no doubt the wifi doesn't remain connected, so why would the software bother shutting on and off if it weren't for energy savings? Probably doesn't explain the OPs issues though, although I will say that when I get in the car the display shows LTE and not wifi like it does when I park and if I click on it I do get the spinning circle and 'searching for networks' although there is a green check next to my network indicating it is already connected.
     
  15. Atari2600

    Atari2600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    I had a problem where my DHCP server ran out of IP addresses and I had to increase the pool IP range. The symptom of this is things will not connect to your WiFi. :)

    I also had an issue where my access point was no longer stable due to age or the half assed firmware patch to fix the WPA2 security issue. I noticed spotty wireless communication from my EcoBee logging even though the signal was strong so I replaced that tonight and now communication from my WiFi to LAN side is much better. Even dumb tasks like controlling my AppleTV via my iPhone over WiFi is 100 times better. Again, I had a strong signal here too.

    Perhaps you have one of these two issues.
     
  16. PoitNarf

    PoitNarf My dog's breath smells like dog food

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,746
    Location:
    NJ
    Geez, how many devices do you have on your home network that DHCP ran out of IP addresses?
     
  17. Atari2600

    Atari2600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    The range was set for only 40 devices so I changed it to 60.
     
  18. PoitNarf

    PoitNarf My dog's breath smells like dog food

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,746
    Location:
    NJ
    Ah ok. I thought you were using the entire 255 addresses in a class C subnet, haha.
     
  19. brkaus

    brkaus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,424
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have 52 leases right now at home.

    Both the 3 & S hop on and off the wifi all the time. I've assumed sleeping. The connect pretty quicknehrn I get home.

    One time the 3 had not connected for three days. Double scroll reboot and back to normal.
     
  20. Atari2600

    Atari2600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    If I ever need to switch my home network to class B private IP space I will be sure to check myself in for evaluation.
     
    • Funny x 2

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC