TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Wifi

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by samiam, Sep 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. samiam

    samiam New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Iowa
    I was hoping to connect to the WiFi at work from my work parking garage. When I connect on my phone it requires a username and password to make the connection. When I select the network in my Model S, it only asks for a password, which then doesn't work (presumably because it doesn't have any username to go with it). Any advice on how to work around this?
    Thanks!
     
  2. ggr

    ggr Roadster R80 537, SigS P85 29

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm guessing here, but some corporate networks ask for username and password after you connect to the actual network. Is the phone supplied by the company? Maybe it has a pre-provisioned password for connecting to the SSID, then redirects you to the secondary authentication. In the car, this would be asking for the password for the WPS password. You should be able to ask your phone for any password needed for the WiFi SSID, then try that.
     
  3. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Teslas do not support captive portal authentication. They disconnect if the network doesn’t immediately allow internet.

    One workaround is if you have the energy / technical inclination: MAC spoof your Tesla from a computer and log in on its behalf.
     
  4. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    TN
    that's not entirely true.
    the "check internet" script just tries to connect to a few random sites and pull http headers. So assuming DNS hijacks everything (a requirement for captive authentication) that should work, right?

    The password + username for wifi auth probably means there's some sort of enterprise auth with a key that's not available on the car.
     
  5. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Most captive systems don’t hijack DNS anymore, but rather insert transparent 302-redirects on every site you try to visit. I presume those won’t get accepted as valid headers.

    They started doing this because of all the problems with DNS hijacks getting cached even after the user authenticates, which is a pain to clear out in certain operating systems.


    I played around with this a lot trying to get my car onto xfinitywifi and my apartment complex’s public wifi, both of which are captive portal based. The MAC spoofing technique worked but otherwise the car would not connect to the network.
     
  6. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    TN
    I think it would not really care.
    Code:
    function getHeader()
    {
        DOMAIN=$1
        ADDRESS=$(dnsip "www.${DOMAIN}.com")
    
        if [ -z "$ADDRESS" ] ; then
            $LOG "failed to lookup $1"
            return
        fi
    
        url="http://$ADDRESS"
        $LOG "testing ($DOMAIN) $url..."
        if curl --interface $LINK --silent --max-time $WAIT_THIS_LONG --head $url >/dev/null
        then
                $LOG "successfully downloaded header for $url, internet accessible"
                exit 0
        else
            $LOG "failed to download header for $url"
        fi
    }
    
     
  7. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Hmm do you have xfinitywifi near you? It definitely won’t connect to the network if the network is presenting a captive portal. I would be curious as to why.
     
  8. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    TN
    Yes, I just tried xfinitywifi and it does not work because it cannot really resolve anything:
    Code:
    2017-09-11T12:05:44.878802-07:00 cid QtCarParrot[5082]: [WifiState] INFO wifiConnectHidden called with ssid: xfinitywifi sec: 0
    2017-09-11T12:05:44.897266-07:00 cid QtCarParrot[5082]: [WCSM] INFO wifiConnectHidden ssid: xfinitywifi sec: 0
    2017-09-11T12:05:47.478932-07:00 cid QtCarNetManager[1515]: [WifiLinkManager] INFO WifiCheckingInternet running helper [check-internet, parrot]
    2017-09-11T12:05:47.654092-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot Using 192.168.20.1 as the name server
    2017-09-11T12:05:50.764416-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot failed to lookup teslamotors
    2017-09-11T12:05:53.840574-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot failed to lookup cnn
    2017-09-11T12:05:56.896310-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot failed to lookup target
    2017-09-11T12:05:59.945130-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot failed to lookup avg
    2017-09-11T12:05:59.961407-07:00 cid check-internet[29987]: parrot internet not accessible
    
    So I tried to connect from a laptop and it immediately pops up a "join xfinitywifi" window on macos, I looked and the DNS it pushes is the standard xfinity 75.75.75.75, but there's no route to it and you cannot really actually look up any names in this state from command line.

    Hm, actually apparently on macos when this window is present it does some funny stuff, since if you dismiss it a couple of times dns lookup starts workign actually. Need to try a deeper lock later.
     
  9. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Yeah, on OS X in captive portal mode, network access is blocked except for the login window, to prevent stuff in the background from getting mortally confused here.


    Yeah, I'm curious what the actual failure is. I presume "failed to lookup" comes from the dnsip command?
     
  10. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    TN
    So.... weird thing happened today, I accidentally switched to park at a traffic light and the car picked up xfinity wifi (remembered from my previous attempt) and actually connected to it killing my internet in process, huh:

    Code:
    2017-09-27T15:06:01.636834-07:00 cid QtCarParrot[31883]: [WifiState] INFO wifiConnectHidden called with ssid: xfinitywifi sec: 0
    2017-09-27T15:06:01.679451-07:00 cid QtCarParrot[31883]: [WCSM] INFO wifiConnectHidden ssid: xfinitywifi sec: 0
    2017-09-27T15:06:05.267533-07:00 cid QtCarNetManager[1511]: [WifiLinkManager] INFO WifiCheckingInternet running helper [check-internet, parrot]
    2017-09-27T15:06:05.339882-07:00 cid check-internet[7618]: parrot Using 192.168.20.1 as the name server
    2017-09-27T15:06:08.437869-07:00 cid check-internet[7618]: parrot testing (teslamotors) http://104.89.81.243 ...
    2017-09-27T15:06:08.559175-07:00 cid check-internet[7618]: parrot successfully downloaded header for http://104.89.81.243 , internet accessible
    
    at the same time browser did not connect to slashdot.org - not sure if due to ssl certs issues they had earlier today or something else, but since this was a traffic light did not have too much time to try any other websites.
     

Share This Page