Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Will I get a glider trailer into the supercharging areas?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've recently ordered M3 AWD LR + towbar. Very excited and thinking about various practicalities.

One of them is that I'm a glider pilot, and will be visiting other clubs around the country with my own glider, which is transported in a ~8m long trailer (this one, to be exact).

This will invariably involve supercharging en route.

From your experiences of the typical supercharging areas in the motorway services, what's going to be the crack with taking an 8m long trailer into the supercharging areas? It'll almost certainly be an unhitch job and move it around by hand to keep it out of people's way; but is there even space to do this, or will I need to leave it in some other part of the services?

Depends which you expect to visit.

Some of the motorway service stations have loads of room but some of the hotel based sites less so.

Google street view might give you an idea of the scope you have if you know which are likely.

You are probably going to have to unhitch and park it up before supercharging on most of the sites I have been in as the sites are pretty charging specific. Henry T's advice about a look on google street view is sound.

From where you live, Sutton Bank will be familiar. Have a google of Scotch Corner SC location and you will see what I mean! You may already know the site.

Teslas have to reverse into the stall to get the charge cable, so you are going to have to ditch the tow before you can get to the charger and all your neighbours at the SC are doing the same.

As Henry has said, try Street View to get an idea of layout, but from my own experience (just driving, no towing):