Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Will the FSD Re-write Include AP and Enhanced AP?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a high end software architect/manager. Of course they will fork.

"HW3 includes a custom Tesla-designed system on a chip. Tesla claimed that the new system would process 2,300 frames per second (fps), which is a 21x improvement in image processing compared to HW2.5, which is capable of 110 fps. The firm described it as a "neural network accelerator". Each chip is capable of 36 trillion operations per second, and there are two chips for redundancy. Tesla claims HW3 has 2.5× improved performance over HW2.5 with 1.25× higher power and 0.8× lower cost. HW3 features twelve ARM Cortex-A72 CPUs operating at 2.6 GHz, two Neural Network Accelerators operating at 2 GHz and a Mali GPU operating at 1 GHz."

EAP = PS3
FSD = PS4

(I didn't say PS5 because it's backwards compatible with PS4)

Despite being a high end software architect/manager you seem to have missed the point somewhat :).

The subject of this thread is not a hardware fork. Assume everyone is on HW3. The subject is the difference between FSD and EAP which is a merely a software difference and one that folks can upgrade between.

IMO the rewrite will impact them both. Non-FSD autosteer still uses most of the brain power and in exactly the same way. FSD subscribers will simply continue to have the additional features unlocked.

But Tesla have said for some time now that AP/EAP is "feature complete" which might imply that any and all new AP features/enhancements in V11 will be aimed at FSD owners only.