TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Windshield Wipers Don't Retract

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by musk fan, Aug 25, 2015.

1. musk fan

musk fan Member

I'm a newbie and sure would appreciate some guidance on this. I used my wipers for the first time yesterday, and they won't retract back down into the well (or whatever it's called). I searched all the threads and can't find an answer. Ditto for the manual. I even asked the service guys at my local store and they're stumped. What am I missing?

2. Todd Burch

Todd Burch Electron Pilot

Check the settings on the main screen to make sure wiper service mode is turned off.

3. FlasherZ

FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

I have found that in some cases, wiping a dry windshield with the wipers will cause them to stick up a bit. Wet your windshield or use the windshield washer and it is likely to drop down.

4. steve841

steve841 Active Member

Or just give them a light push down back in to place.

5. musk fan

musk fan Member

Thanks, Todd, FlasherZ and Steve! I appreciate your suggestions. Unfortunately, none of these tips worked for me. Now I'm curious about your wipers. Do they stick up a bit or do they go all the way down?

6. Khatsalano

Khatsalano Member

My wipers go all the way down. At about month 3, the passenger side one started sticking about 2 inches up within view. The service center fixed this for me by adjusting the wiper blades as part of warranty. Now they are back to normal positions on retract.

Bring it in ... they can fix it!

- K

7. gaswalla

gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

Service center has adjusted my stop point multiple times for this reason .. I recommend a quick stop by,.. Very simple adjustment

8. Dborn

Dborn Confirmed