Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Winter Battery Heating

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey everyone, quick question about range degradation/mitigating range loss overnight-skip to the end for the TL;DR:

I’m a firefighter in a suburban/rural county in the mid-Atlantic region. I’m very close to buying a standard range plus Model 3 out of inventory by July 1 to take advantage of the $3,750 tax credit. At most, I have a 60 mile round trip commute, which is normally not a concern. I work a 24 hour shift from 7am-7am, and my only concern/reservation is that in the winter time, if I experience an overnight drop in range of 20-40% and then possibly have to drive an additional 20-60 miles for an overnight/emergency shift and am away from home/without time to go to a supercharger between shifts, I could be pushing the limits of winter range. I recognize that this is an edge case scenario, but given my profession, I have to be prepared for just that.

I won’t have access to a NEMA 14-50 while away from my regularly assigned station, but I will have access to a 120v AC outlet, which I figure I can hook up to with an 8 or 10 gauge extension cable to avoid a voltage drop that’s detectable by the mobile connector. My napkin math tells me that with a charge rate of 3mph with the mobile connector, over a 24 hour period I could regain 72 miles of range which would account for a ~30% range loss in cold weather not taking into account lost efficiency during driving.

Will the mobile connector be enough to offset overnight battery conditioning drain when temperatures are in the teens to single digits?