TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Wireless Charging

Discussion in 'Charging Standards and Infrastructure' started by Doug_G, Oct 6, 2010.

1. Doug_G

Doug_G Lead Moderator

#1 Doug_G, Oct 6, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2012
  2. Jaff

Jaff Active Member

#2 Jaff, Oct 6, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
    The article states "Eric Giler, chief executive officer at WiTricity, claims their wireless system can already transfer over 3.3 kW of power, a level capable of fully charging an electric car at the same rate as a typical residential plug-in charger. “Charging an electric car should be as easy as parking it in a garage or parking spot,” Giler says."

I'm not technical Doug...how does this compare with a TM HPC or Universal mobile connector?

I mean it looks very interesting & alleviates the fear of vandalism / theft of your charging cable, but...

3. TEG

TEG TMC Moderator

3.3kW is what you might call "Level 2 lite". It is what the Nissan Leaf will pull standard. This is approx 16A @ 208V

The ~MY2000 last generation EVs like Toyota Rav4EV and Ford RangerEV would charge at 6.6kW. This is approx 32A @ 208V.

The Tesla home HPC goes all the way up to 70A, and with residental 240V that gets you 16.8kW.

So, like 5 times slower charging than you could get with an HPC...

4. Jaff

Jaff Active Member

Thanks for the laymen's explanation TEG...I'm installing the 70 amp HPC at home...5x's slower (i.e.approx 16 hours for a full charge?...I'm not willing to wait that long.

5. doug

doug Administrator / Head Moderator

I'm sure we have another thread on this topic somewhere. My problem with wireless charging is the added cost and especially the loss of efficiency for a minor convenience.

6. TEG

TEG TMC Moderator

7. Doug_G

Doug_G Lead Moderator