Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wiring Harness for Third Party Hitch Necessary for Bike Rack?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've been considering a hitch for our 2021 Model Y, but exclusively so we can haul two kids' bikes, along with an adult hybrid/fitness bike. I know I can get the OEM hitch from Tesla for $1,200+tax, but I am also considering less expensive options, such as the Ecohitch and the Draw-Tite 76430 (I'm also open to other suggestions).

As I understand it, the wiring harness is only necessary if I plan to tow a trailer, which I do not ever plan to do. If my understanding is correct, would I be okay foregoing the wiring harness, which adds another $100-$250 in parts and labor? Any drawbacks to not having the wiring harness/kit?

Last edited:
I've been considering a hitch for our 2021 Model Y, but exclusively so we can haul two kids' bikes, along with an adult hybrid/fitness bike. I know I can get the OEM hitch from Tesla for $1,200+tax, but I am also considering less expensive options, such as the Ecohitch and the Draw-Tite 76430 (I'm also open to other suggestions).

As I understand it, the wiring harness is only necessary if I plan to tow a trailer, which I do not ever plan to do. If my understanding is correct, would I be okay foregoing the wiring harness, which adds another $100-$250 in parts and labor? Any drawbacks to not having the wiring harness/kit?
If you don’t plan on towing anything that requires a brake controller/lights, you do not need the harness.

Why oh why do folks not get the OEM hitch is beyond me. On $60K vehicle.

Lower resale value on the car and risk of voiding warranty. You don’t think they can, go ahead and experiment. They have no idea what your going to attach. Car has alignment problems, motor problems, suspension problems, brake problems they can blame the 3rd party hitch.