TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

WPA2 working for anyone?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by lolachampcar, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,451
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    We just upgraded our cable modem/router and the new router uses WPA2 security with a twenty digit security code. All my household items are transferred over and I've had numerous guests visit and get on the network without issue. There are no MAC blocking or other router based screens in place. Both my wife and my previous MS had no issue with our home network. I was hoping to get the latest firmware so I tried getting my P85D on the network on to have it fail. I then tried my wife's car with the same result. The car recognizes the network is WPA2 but will not log on.
    Has anyone been using a WPA2 security based wireless router with success?
     
  2. DCWitt

    DCWitt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Watseka, IL
    My P85 connects to a buffalo router using WPA2 Personal with 8 digit pass.
     
  3. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,451
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    I just disabled my WPA2-PSK twenty digit key and went open and it still would not connect. I'm going to try to improve signal strength (move router) as it is not security related.
     
  4. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA
    I use Apple Time Capsule with WPA2 and a 13 digit code without a problem.
     
  5. Pollux

    Pollux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    957
    Location:
    Merry land / District of Confusion
    @lolachampcar,

    Sorry to learn of your pain.

    FWIW, I have a a WPA2 network with a backbone consisting of a half-dozen Apple Airport Express WAPs scattered around the house. Several vintages, ranging from about a year old to several years old.

    All running WPA2. 40-character network alpha password.

    Maybe 12-15 clients, including iPads, iPhones, iMacs, MacBooks, TiVo, and whatnot. Visitors connect with a variety of devices, including Windows and Android as well as Apple. Plus, of course, a P85+.

    Alan

    P.S. Just noticed your comment re signal strength. The key for success in my particular network is that I have a wired backbone running throughout the house, with an N-port GigE router handling the traffic in the basement (N=12? 16? don't recall, but it was a <$200 router so it's not exactly an awesome piece of gear). The Airport Expresses form a single WiFi network but given that they are distributed around the house they can effectively provide a much greater bubble of coverage than a single WiFi access point could provide.
     
  6. Fezzik

    Fezzik P67429

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, IL
    #6 Fezzik, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015
    I spent 6 hours on testing this. I was going to post it up somewhere else. It helps to have the wireless signal to be mixed. Not N only, but mixed. Then it will connect. I was able to get it to connect WPA2 personal with aes security key that was 12 digits and 8 digits long. I was not able to get it to connect to a repeater bridge either, so I have it connected to my repeater bridge router on another channel that is bridge to the repeater bridge channel.
    So take home. Check that the wireless is on mixed and not N or n/ac and on mixed.

    I can connect the tesla to a asus rt-68ac, a linksys e4200 (mixed mode only) and a buffalo router (mixed mode). The last two are running dd-wrt.
     
  7. Pollux

    Pollux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    957
    Location:
    Merry land / District of Confusion
    Wow, @Fezzik, thanks for the diagnostic effort and reporting back!

    Alan

     
  8. pgiralt

    pgiralt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,476
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    FWIW, I'm connected using WPA2 personal and it just so happens that my password is also exactly 20 characters long. Haven't had any issues.
     
  9. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,451
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    I disabled security and still no joy so I believe, like others have mentioned, it is an A/B/N issues. There are no settings for my particular modem in this area even though it is spec'd as backward compatible. I'm going to pick up an Apple Airport today and give that a go.

    Thank you all for the help!!
     
  10. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    Toronto
    Have you tried rebooting your center console? I have had similar problems that were fixed by rebooting.

    My Tesla appears to only connect to my WAP with 802.11g if that helps. Signal strength could be an issue as often you can see other WAPs but you can't carry on a two way conversation as the Tesla may have a stronger antenna. Try to see if you can put a WAP very close to the Tesla to see if it connects. Even if you are not connected to the internet you could put your router right by the car and see if it can make the connection.
     
  11. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Also, remember it only works on the 2.4 GHz frequency, not 5.0 GHz
     
  12. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    My MS's work fine with WPA2, but I have found that the MS's are pretty deaf when it comes to WiFi. I finally put an inexpensive, 2.4 GHz access point in the garage next to the Teslas. Kinda like shouting at a deaf person... :eek:
     
  13. russman

    russman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    California
    Yes, the Tesla is only 2.4G 802.11g and thus A and N only environments will not work if they are 5.0G.

     
  14. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I have had no problem with my three Airports/Time Capsules that are bridged using WPA2. However, there are times when I have full signal and others where I barely have anything. The garage router is 3ft from the driver's door. I wonder if my variable signal strength is due outside interference that I can't locate. I live in a rural area but most my neighbors have routers that I can see.

    Hope that helps.
     
  15. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,451
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    Airport fixed the problem for me. Thank you to all that responded.

    Note to self, Motorola Docsis 3.0 Surfboard does not like MS :)
     

Share This Page