Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

X vs S - what am I missing?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I admit I'm a Tesla noob. I ordered a Model S60 with AWD, Pano roof, and leather seats yesterday.

Today I stopped by the dealership with my wife just to show her the S in person. We started looking at the X. I had never considered it because I assumed it was significantly more expensive.

Then I priced out an X that (as far as I can tell) has the same options as my S. AWD is standard and there's no such thing as a pano roof, so the only thing I added was leather seats.

My S price: $77,500
My X price: $79,000

Why would I not order the X? As far as I can tell it's more spacious, the gull wing doors seem awesome, and it's bad-ass looking just like the S.

Any help would be appreciated.

I owned an S, and am moving now into an X. In general, from what I can say (somewhat short is):

1. S is better if you like the lower feel of a car. It is definitely harder to get in/out of and you have to kinda twist into the front seat even but learn how to do it. Not good for older people front or back.

2. S has the opening pano. Kinda miss it but didn't use it too much I guess. The windshield on the X is amazing, actually appreciate having that all the time versus opening the pano sometimes.

3. X, higher ride height, like that a lot. That is the biggest different.

4. The X has some refinements the S still doesn't have. A little more trim around it, wood, little things like the seat belts being height adjustable that the S still doesn't have, etc.

5. The has by default less space in the back, until you put the seats down and its fine. The S by default has a huge hatchback back, which liked a lot.

6. The ground clearance of the X is better, 8+ inches, versus 5+ inches on the S. Lot less scraping to worry about which I like over driveways/bumps, etc.