TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Yet another post about audio player problems

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by David29, Apr 5, 2018.

Tags:
  1. David29

    David29 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    DEDHAM, MA
    I thought I had seen everything in terms of audio glitches. But yesterday I experienced one I had not seen before: The audio application displayed information (channel name, song title, artist, album name, and album art) for a different song from the one that I was hearing. Everything was different, even the channel name. I was listening to Slacker, and left the car for a few minutes. When I got back in a short time later, the same channel was playing as before (not sure if it paused the song or if the song changed), but an entirely different song from a different channel was displayed. The display was the same in the main screen and in the instrument cluster. When the song ended, and the next song started, the display changed to the correct one.

    I am sure that I cannot be the only one to have had this experience, but I cannot recall reading about it on here.
    Anyone else think this is a new thing? Or have I just missed having a common problem?

    I filed a bug report.
     
  2. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    It may have just looped, and the display went ahead. Hard to say. Haven't seen that myself.

    My question, is how did you file a bug report? I'd love to have a good way to do this that actually gets somewhere useful in a timely fashion.
     
  3. nexusone

    nexusone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    California
    use the voice command "submit bug report" followed by a description.
     
  4. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    And once again I’ve been told that goes nowhere unless the car is in the SC and they are pulling logs. Love to get a definitive answer on this.
     
  5. Exiom

    Exiom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    This happens quiet often in my car... but for FM radio.

    My MCU would "glitch" / "mini-reboot" for a few seconds... causing the airbag light to come on like you would fully rebooting the MCU... however unlike a full reboot... audio/aircon/etc continues... then airbag light will turn off.

    But after this... the audio section on the MCU would display AM but the audio is still the FM station I was listening to but no glitches in the audio output ever... or was so brief that I did not notice...

    I am on 2018.6.1 641efac however problem has been present for me since 2017.50.2 3bd9f6d or earlier...
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. selfbp

    selfbp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    East, TN
    I’ve gotten the same the same issue. Also has anyone noticed the Equalizer macimum settings have been reduced to 8 now? (Sorry if that’s already been covered I’ve been inactive lately)
     
    • Informative x 2
  7. Max Headroom

    Max Headroom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Calgary
    Yes, and audio quality has been significantly degraded at the same time. Happened on the 10.4 release.
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. scottm

    scottm Version 9 software sufferer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3,070
    Location:
    Canada
    Maybe the new speedy UI improvements on old MCUs has to get its cycles from somewhere doesn't it? Audio suffers.
     
    • Informative x 1
  9. Max Headroom

    Max Headroom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Calgary
    Except those improvements aren't until release 12. Let's hope they fix the audio in an update to release 12!
     
  10. Tamar

    Tamar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Is anyone going to report this as a bug? (besides me?)
     
  11. David29

    David29 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    DEDHAM, MA
    I did, but I have serious reservations about how effective that is. In the first place, I usually have to dictate the "bug" text 3 or 4 times for the system to recognize more than half of what i say.
     
  12. Tamar

    Tamar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I called the 800 number and made sure it wasn't a "mistake". Then called the local service center and did the same and they were able to see that we'd already reported it.
     
  13. Sawyer8888

    Sawyer8888 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    South Florida
    Two or three times in the past couple of months I've had the wrong art displayed for the song that was playing via Slacker.

    This behavior is not nearly as annoying as the loading errors, which fortunately are much less frequent now.

    I have not reported the artwork discrepancies primarily due to the low impact.
     
  14. Max Headroom

    Max Headroom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Calgary
    You bet. I reported it via the "bug report" system immediately, but also have a list of related 10.4 issues being investigated by the local Service Centre. If they or a new SW release solves it, I'll post here ...
     
  15. Max Headroom

    Max Headroom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Calgary
    I was on a call today with a Tech who has fielded many concerns regarding the lower db range of the new equalizer from 10.4 . The story is that there is a link between the audio SW/Firmware on the Model S and the Model 3 and that this change has to do with the software stream associate to both vehicles. The Model 3's db range goes to 8 ... Long story short, the are working on a fix and that part is the good news. I'm sure we'll have our audio experience back in the not too distant future. I for one am happy to be patient with Tesla.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  16. Corsair

    Corsair Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    South Surrey, BC , Canada
    My does the random cello pluck sound since the upgrade to 10.4 -> 14.2. It was present in my previous MS ... I guess the 70D ghost is haunting me...
     
  17. Markk993

    Markk993 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    My car has a intermittent XM issue... if you are on channel 125 and push the down arrow it goes to a random number like channel 45... go back to 125 and push the down arrow again and it goes to another random number like 79...

    Had a SC tech witness it first hand, have video of it, have had it escalated up to Fremont... they decided to change out the radio module, which they did and then they immediately called me to tell me that it still is not fixed... been going on 9 months and still no resolution. Like I said it is an intermittent problem so it doesn't effect me very often but no one can seem to solve this one..

    At this point I think they should just give me a new P100D and we can call it even
     
    • Funny x 1
  18. Max Headroom

    Max Headroom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Calgary
    Yay! This was fixed in 2018.20 . Good to have the great sound back ...
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC