TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Yet another TPMS for Roadster 1.5 thread

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by asgard, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. asgard

    asgard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    CA
  2. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Steve Hand reported that he bought the $36 ones (TPMS TT-0011 on your cited page) via Amazon "sold by" Wheel1x. Tesla installed them for him at $50 per tire for rebalancing, etc., and tested the TPMS.

    Before seeing Steve Hand's report, I bought the $73 ones that are claimed to be the same as the originals because my installer was more comfortable with that choice. I got mine from tpms.com in Irvine.
     
  3. spiderguy

    spiderguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Steve, do you know if these TPMS parts will work on 2.0 and 2.5 roadsters? Unbelievably, I need 4 sets of these now. I've already had the TPMS sensors replaced for the 2.5s, but the TPMS lights have returned. For my 2 1.5s, both TPMS warnings came on within a week of each other.
     
  4. n2mb_racing

    n2mb_racing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    durham, NC
    The 2.0 tpms sensors are cheap from Tesla. Maybe $30? I replaced two of them last year.
     
  5. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Agreed, the 1.5 TPMS thread(s) and these solutions were from my hunt to find an affordable alternative to the $400-$500 Tesla priced one which we were stuck to. There's no need to go any other route then Tesla for the 2.x's since they already are at an affordable price point.

    While we're on topic, I believe when all 4 TPMS units are dead the VDS will display a TPMS hardware error. This is most likely due to the fact there's no heart-beat coming from any TPMS sensor, so it faults out as if the TPMS hardware is the issue which it isn't.
     
  6. Kerios

    Kerios Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    So I don't know whether this is an option for North American cars based on local laws, but I've just had my TPMS disabled after seeing faults once every 6 months or so, my SC disabled the TPMS for about $60. I've now fitted an aftermarket system which uses a bluetooth connected unit which sits in the car (with a solar cell facing outward to charge it e.g. no battery needed or connection), and four sensors on each wheel monitoring pressure, temperature etc. Dead simple to install, seems reliable and removes any issues for the typical failure of sensor, antenna or control system I was previously installed. Unit installed details here: FIT2GO Tyre Pressure Monitoring System TPMS Receiver 4 Sensors User Friendly | eBay

    I'm much happier with this than the original system, less elegant but more reliable, and easy to fit / remove etc.
     
    • Informative x 1
  7. djf

    djf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    But if you can see pressure readings for the 4 tires on the VDS, that would seem to imply that the 'TPMS Hardware Failure' message is not due to 4 failed sensors, correct? If so, what exact part has failed and needs replacement?
     
  8. djf

    djf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Thanks for sharing this info, Kerios - this sounds like a very good workaround - bypassing/replacing a problematic system with a simpler and more reliable one. There are inexpensive after-market 'freestanding' TPMS monitoring systems available in the US as well. But is disabling the TPMS system an option in the US? - Although it is widely done by many car owners for sure (Mr. Google will tell you that), I believe TPMS is a federal mandate and thus disabling it may be illegal ... which seems illogical if you are going to replace it with a better TPMS monitoring system! Appreciate others' thoughts on this..
     
  9. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    If you can see pressure readings in the VDS then it appears the TPMS sensors are functioning. I believe you can take the Roadster to any tire shop and they should be at minimum be able to read the TPMS battery level. I'd check that out first, but don't hold me to that. Its a "should" that they can read the battery levels. If battery levels are good I'd then start looking at your antennas and connections.

    If you're technical and want to hunt further, I'd read up on that 2.x TPMS thread that started out as a funny rant but now full of great information. You can start capturing data and see who / what is working and who / what is not in the system.

    As for disabling the TPMS system, you can't here in the USA. It is mandatory. And Tesla is the only one who can disable it in the running firmware. To throw that option out. Closest thing to disabling it is what was said again in the 2.x TPMS thread. You can fake out the sensors to the antenna. However you have a 1.5 Roadster, and we don't have the ongoing issues that the 2.x's have since the 1.5 has a more robust TPMS system, however as you know we're locked into the set tire sizes / rotation values.
     

Share This Page