Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model Y - Aftermarket wheels

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi All,

Newbie here - albeit looks like i registered years ago! (Didn't know until i just tried to register!)

Currently looking to order a Model Y for September delivery and looking on the inventory, there appears some decent savings on the Gemini-wheeled models over the 20" wheel - more-so than the extra price of the wheel.

I spoke to Tesla about upgrading after purchase to the 20" but it's not something they offer.

So, looking at the 19" with the Gemini wheels as winter wheels, but with a summer set of aftermarket wheels also - BBS or OZ maybe.

Just wondered - anyone done this yet? And if so, does it cause all sorts of faults and unexpected modification errors??

Plenty of choices in aftermarket wheels for the Tesla Model Y. 18" and 19" are popular sizes for winter tires. In the US Tesla Service won't install aftermarket wheels on your Tesla vehicle, some local Tesla Service may do this. You would need to purchase TPMS sensors either from Tesla, the wheel seller or online (eBay Motors, etc.) You are responsible for ensuring fit, proper offset and load rating.

TSportline Tesla Model Y Wheel and Tire Guide

Reactions: sider
I’m looking to get aftermarket wheels for my 2023 Model Y. The wheels I’m looking at are 19X8.5 with a +45 offset and a weight rating of 1680 pounds. I will be putting the stock 255/45R19 tires on the new rims and I want to make sure these wheels would be strong enough for a Model Y? I understand the stock Gemini wheels are 19X9.5 with a +45 offset so I’m also curious where the wheel would sit in the wheel well? My assumption would be that the wheel would sit about a half inch in from the stock wheel. Any help is appreciated as I know nothing about wheels and this is actually the first time I’m purchasing aftermarket wheels. Thanks