Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Insurance question--need advice

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all, I do warn you, this is super minor.

In 15years of driving I've never gotten hit or had any citations/violations.. first time for everything I guess. I need advice on what to do. I'm a total newbie. I have insurance through tesla. My deductible is pretty high ($1000). I guess its the price I pay for being in the Bay Area and my monthly is $105 (I cheaped out). All other insurance companies quoted >$275/month.

I was parked in a parking lot. The guy behind me decided to back up all the way and hit my bumper. There is now a small, but deep scratch to the bumper. The guy left without leaving a note. I have the whole video on sentry.

I need advice/guidance on next steps.

Is it worth pursuing a claim with my own insurance? It is minor, but I hate knowing that scratch is there. There is a divot--you can run your finger in it and it is deeper than the surrounding paint. I assume my premiums would increase. Is the back bumper plastic? Has anyone had their rear bumper replaced totally by Tesla? Any costs associated? What can I expect?
IMG_7124.jpg

Thanks all!