Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

[Question] Self-powered optimal settings?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello,

Just recently got my 5.6kW panels and 2PW installed with AC hooked to it. I have a probably a dumb question...

If it takes about 2 days to charge the PW and before the sun rises I use up about 80 to 85% of the battery, does that mean I have to keep the reserve for power outage setting at around 35-40% to make sure I'm back at 100% before the sun sets

Right now it's at 0% reserve for outage, but I doubt it will charge to 100% from the current 15%. I believe I can get 70% charge on a normal day. Essentially, the battery will empty out in the middle of the night as the charge won't keep up during the day.

I'm still playing around with the settings and understanding fully how it works. Noob here.

Hello,

Just recently got my 5.6kW panels and 2PW installed with AC hooked to it. I have a probably a dumb question...

If it takes about 2 days to charge the PW and before the sun rises I use up about 80 to 85% of the battery, does that mean I have to keep the reserve for power outage setting at around 35-40% to make sure I'm back at 100% before the sun sets

Right now it's at 0% reserve for outage, but I doubt it will charge to 100% from the current 15%. I believe I can get 70% charge on a normal day. Essentially, the battery will empty out in the middle of the night as the charge won't keep up during the day.

I'm still playing around with the settings and understanding fully how it works. Noob here.
Do you get any credits for feeding solar back into the grid? You should prioritize that to best zero out your bill.

Also, you lose 15% of your energy on its round trip in/out of the battery it it works against your solar-credits/ROI to charge too much off solar.