Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Section 179 + Federal Tax credit combined?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I replied to your Section 179 question in the other thread but since you started a new dedicated thread on this topic I'll put the same reply here:

You should really research these massive cap cost depreciation deductions and the gains paid downstream if you ever realize a "profit" compared to the deductions you took claiming it was worth less than it really was. The reality is that the IRS will get their money at some point and this "loop hole" isn't quite the boon that many believe it is. It saves on taxes short term but can impact your tax situation negatively long-term depending on income brackets and such.

I'm no tax expert but I have a lot of friends who played that depreciation game that are now trying to sell off assets and running into big headaches trying to offset gains they now owe due to the "profit" they'd see based on the depreciation they claimed previously. All I'm saying is to look into all aspects as I feel many times tax experts can get too focused on the now and what is owed this year for tax liability and tend to lose sight of the bigger financial picture.

I replied to your Section 179 question in the other thread but since you started a new dedicated thread on this topic I'll put the same reply here:

You should really research these massive cap cost depreciation deductions and the gains paid downstream if you ever realize a "profit" compared to the deductions you took claiming it was worth less than it really was. The reality is that the IRS will get their money at some point and this "loop hole" isn't quite the boon that many believe it is. It saves on taxes short term but can impact your tax situation negatively long-term depending on income brackets and such.