Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

PSA - Model 3 ordering only gets worse not better as we approach end of year.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

MXWing

Oct 13, 2016
USA
The majority of the population procrastinate. They also believe depreciating goods get cheaper over time.

In general, my second statement is true under normal market operating conditions. We are not under normal market operating conditions.

In reality, the $7,500 tax credit matters less for Tesla than it does for other auto. Reason being is the tax credit ends up being a smaller percentage of the overall vehicle price compared to a strip model Volt.

People go to great lengths however to get a discount, even if they have to spend more than the "discount". Even as an economist I make irrational decisions based on emotional appeals and not always from optimal fiscal decisions.

I have already read anecdotes of regret from people saying they wish they pulled the trigger earlier due to rising prices of Paint, AWD, etc. For every one person posting here, there's another 1000 (for argument sake) that is thinking the same way.

Those who hesitate over forgone conclusions like they are getting a Model 3, while suffering from paralysis of analysis pay the most in the end the longer they wait.

They will pay the most in the end through

-Choice of desired motor levels are reduced to stock on hand.
-Tesla changing prices to match demand through end of 2018.
-Tesla eliminating choices to maximize production.
-Tesla focus on out the factory and in customers hands with the maximum output which makes delivery more inconsistent.
-Stress on if delivery will happen before 1/1/2019.
-Interest rates are on the rise and are CERTAIN to rise. FOMC already stated this is their intention. Cost of borrowing goes up.