Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Registration / Title Question, Colorado EV Credit

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I want to get the Colorado EV Tax credit as I live here. Oregon has a discounted New tesla I want.

To get the Colorado Credit I need to register and title for the first time in Colorado, and not another state. Ive heard in California that they register the car when you buy it.
Is it the Same in Oregon? This page confuses me.

If you buy the car in Colorado and take delivery in Colorado that state tax credit is an instant discount at the point of sale. I believe that if you buy a new vehicle out-of-state and register it in Colorado you can apply for the tax credit on your taxes for this year when you file. I'm not a tax professional so do your own research and talk w/a pro but I believe you can still get it on a new car bought out-of-state via your 2023 tax filing.

If you buy the car in Colorado and take delivery in Colorado that state tax credit is an instant discount at the point of sale. I believe that if you buy a new vehicle out-of-state and register it in Colorado you can apply for the tax credit on your taxes for this year when you file. I'm not a tax professional so do your own research and talk w/a pro but I believe you can still get it on a new car bought out-of-state via your 2023 tax filing.
Could you verify the information about the instant discount? Reading the document about the Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit on the colorado.gov website makes me believe that the credit is applied when you next file your taxes, not instantly. However, a tax refund is allowable in excess of the actual state tax you owe.