Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wonder of wonders - an actual Tesla advertisement!

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
So far everyone appears to assume that Tesla Motors paid for this ad to appear in this relatively obscure print magazine with likely a modest circulation.
I have some editorial experience in the small magazine business, and I can tell you that it is not unusual for advertisers to cancel ads just before a print deadline and then the magazine has to fill the space. What can happen is that the space is given away or a company that does not even advertise in the magazine is given space in an attempt to convince them to start paying for ad space.
It is possible that this magazine had unexpected space available and thought it would look cool to make it appear that Tesla was an advertiser. So they go to Telsa's online file of press photos, use one in the ad (and the one they picked was years old, by the way) and whip up some copy and plug it in.
The copy in this ad is uninspired and outdated. The photo is old. It does not look like something Tesla would come up with.
My chain of reasoning here may appear thin to some, but think about it: why would Tesla spend money on a single ad in a relatively obscure print magazine and nowhere else in traditional media? If Tesla is going to start running print magazine ads they have the money to select much higher circulation, higher profile well known magazines. Thank you for posting that information, and it may explain a lot. There may have been page space available and Leilani got the ear of the editor to give Tesla some free promotion. Good for her if that was the case.