Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Any interest in a self hosted automation system for Tesla?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Helle everybody.

I'm a software developer/entrepreneur by trade and been working on a Tesla "Server" (of kinds) for little while now. I actually started with a completely different direction in mind, but am starting to lean towards a self hosted solution. (Too many privacy/security/liability type of issues with a cloud type solution). Before I go too far in this direction, and commit resources on my end (My company does other software related things, so I already have a team of developers, but this would be a new project that we would dedicate resources to), I wanted to see what the community feels about it.

This could be one of three types of solutions:

- Software only - Think Plex Media Server type of a server that would be installed on a Linux machine on your network
- A fully configured virtual machine (ESXI/Vmware) with the above software installed and configured out of the box
- A complete hardware/software product that can be plugged into your network. This would be a very low power server (don't need much horsepower), think ~5-7w power consumption.

Either of these solutions would offer additional functionality beyond what is available today, I'll get into the details of that shortly, but the most important thing is that it is hosted by YOU, lives on YOUR network, and YOU own all the data captured/produced by it. I'm not in the business of selling user data or anything like that, I'm in the business of providing quality software that offers functionality that you may be interested in.

I/My company would have zero access to your data/credentials/login etc etc. Our job is to provide you software that works as intended, is secure, up to date and hopefully evolves over time to provide even more functionality/automation.

Thoughts?