Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Assist me with a case study on Tesla

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Good afternoon everyone. New member here, and I'm enjoying reading about the cars. I'm an MBA student and for our group project we decided to do a Case Study on Tesla.

From our initial research, it appears Tesla has two business models: in-house vehicle production and selling parts/technology to other manufacturers.

We need to recommend if they should continue supporting both models, or focus solely on one. As a car guy myself, I knew there was a forum somewhere where I'd get plenty of opinions on this. Would appreciate any replies, especially if there are articles and sources you can provide.

As an MBA student myself I think what would be helpful is just understanding what they do for Daimler and Toyota. I would start there. It's all very subjective and it depends on the class context. They make power trains for these makers (B class, Smart E, and Rav4). There isn't much to it... Until you look at context of class. All their SEC filings and annual letters are enough to tell you what they do/did.

Nigel has a point.

We've been getting a ridiculous number of surveys posted on TMC - many from MBA students - to the point where we've started to banish them. The forum would be full of the things if we allowed it. At least this thread is just asking for opinions, rather than posting yet another silly survey.

At this rate we'll have to make an MBA Student section...

An important thing to remember is that maximizing profit is not Tesla's #1 priority. Probably not even in the top 3 or 4.