Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Ceramic coating after two years?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi,

I’m tired of washing the car at the shop and paying $50. (I don’t have a garage, plus the Y is huge!).
was thinking of getting ceramic coating to make it easy to self-wash at a coin wash.
However, I’m not sure if it’s reasonable labor-wise to apply coating, as the car is two years old and has tons of small scratches by now.

Hi,

I’m tired of washing the car at the shop and paying $50. (I don’t have a garage, plus the Y is huge!).
was thinking of getting ceramic coating to make it easy to self-wash at a coin wash.
However, I’m not sure if it’s reasonable labor-wise to apply coating, as the car is two years old and has tons of small scratches by now.
I'm not an expert, but I'm unsure why small scratches would affect the effectiveness of ceramic coating. Having just had my new white Y PPF'd all over and ceramic coated on the rear view mirrors and front "bug catcher" damn, I am thrilled with how easily the bug waste is removed. Unbelievably better than pre-ceramic.

Perhaps buy a small amount of DIY ceramic coating and trial it on a small area to see how it goes.

A ceramic coating will not make your car dirt resistant so that you can just pressure spray the car and it’s clean if that’s what you were thinking. Light dust/pollen will roll off with water but road grime and bugs will still stick and need a contact wash, especially lower portions.

If you’re using the brush at the coin wash then that will be a complete waste of the ceramic coating. The brush will still scratch and swirl the paint and abrade the coating.

A ceramic coated car should be hand washed properly to maintain the longevity of the coating.

Coin washes typically don’t allow people to bring their own bucket and wash mitts (though some people do).

Last edited: