TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Charging problem after software update

Discussion in 'Model X' started by KissSzabi, Dec 25, 2016.

  1. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    My model x 90D is impossible to charge with the original tesla mobile connector at home. I am in Europe i use schuko adapter for 230 v 16 A.

    I dont know whats happened but before woks , or the adapter now is defect or is the new software problem

    anybody whit some idea?

    The tesla hotline said , the service center contact me after Christmas holiday :(

    But now is impossible to use the car because the battery is almost empty (i have 40 km )


    IMG_4837.JPG IMG_4838.JPG IMG_4840.JPG
     
  2. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    Can you borrow one from a friend for the night? Or a Chademo adapter and go some place near with chademo?
     
  3. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    unfortunately where i am now no public chargers and in 250 km no another electric car :( , i am in Targu Mures Romania ( Google Maps )
     
  4. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    Try resetting the car (hold center buttons down) on steering, then reset the console (hold upper 2 buttons), while car is unplugged. Then reset the adapter (on the back of the adapter is a reset button.
     
  5. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    That is the reset button im talking about
     

    Attached Files:

  6. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    thank you i tried this before , now i need to try to reset the car too
     
  7. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    sometimes in the cold weather (i see its -3degrees there) the car acts funny .... so i reset the car software, then the charger and then plug it in (in that order). Remember when you reset the adapter it needs to be plugged in the wall not in the car.
    Works for me everytime.
    Hope it works for you!!!
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    Any luck?
     
  9. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    sorry for late reply , unfortunately not better check this video
     
  10. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    You may have an electrical issue. Try plugging the cable into a regular socket (or another socket) using one of the adapters provided with the charging cable. If the issue is with the car/ cable you will have a fail message again. If it succeeds you will charge extremely slow but at least you will charge the car. Then you know your electrician needs to have a look at power source.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  11. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    IMG_0522.JPG
    Did u get an adapter like this
     
  12. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    #12 KissSzabi, Dec 25, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2016
    now i start the charging in another location not far , i find there 3 phase connector, i use same cable whit three phase adaptor.

    Probably the 230 V single phase adaptor is defect , tomorrow i hope the service center find the problem

    BUT now charge only with 10 amp not 16 :( why?

    thank you for hepl!

    IMG_4848.PNG
     
  13. toxicpenguin

    toxicpenguin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Greenwich,CT
    Probably it will ramp up to 16 as you build more charge, and the cold might be the culprit!
    At least you know your car can charge!!!

    I would call an electrician and check your original power outlet before heading out to tesla. I still think it's your outlet that failed not the cable, car or adapter
     
    • Like x 1
  14. KissSzabi

    KissSzabi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Europe
    Thank you for your help! i notify when the problem is solved!
     
  15. fi13

    fi13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Was it solved? :)
     

Share This Page