Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

ESS CAN Communication

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Eguy

Jun 19, 2020
SG
Hii,

I'm from overseas but it seems like here some guys got quite deep into the systems of the Tesla Roadster.
Few words about me: I work as an electronics engineer in power electronics development. Therefore I'm very interested in electric cars, especially the Tesla Roadster. However I do not own an electric car (unfortunatly), but probably I get the chance of buying a Roadster with a damaged PEM, but working ESS.
I'd like to use this car as base for EV project.
I plan to exchange the inverter, onboard charger, motor and the 12 V DC/DC converter to water cooled components, additionally a new VCU and PDU will be integrated as well. Which means completely remove the PEM.
If successful this would end up at about 135 kW continous power and (depending on the battery's capabilities) up to 240 kW peak and 430 Nm peak torque at shaft. However, max. speed would be limited to 180 km/h (max. Motor speed).

Yes, I am aware, this is a big modification of this car and probably this is not just a "winter project", more a "multi-winter project".

My biggest problem is how to communicate to the ESS. How does it work? Communication over CAN. But CAN IDs,...? Is it possible to get the ESS running this way?
Does anybody ever tried something similar? Has anybody some knowledge about the CAN matrix of the Tesla roadster?
For such powerful traction system I need to get power prediction information of the ESS to limit inverter power to prevent overload condition of the battery system. How do I get access to this information?

Regarding charging, I've seen that there is a CHAdeMO kit. From my understanding, the ESS just accepts it if you "start charging" it, when the vehicle is turned on. Is that right?

Thanks, regards