TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

First Tesla Road Trip to Canada

Discussion in 'Canada' started by RedFiveZero, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm planning my first road trip from the US to Canada next weekend. My plan is to cross in to Ontario via the Peace Bridge. I'll be staying several days in the Niagara Region and charge at least once at the Grimsby, ON SC.

    Is there anything Tesla related that I need to plan for or be aware of? Will my X's data and gps mapping work as it always has in the US or do I need to obtain/purchase new data service.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. rypalmer

    rypalmer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Canada
    Nope! Just drive! You may choose to change your display from miles to km once you cross, that's it! Enjoy your trip.
     
    • Informative x 1
  3. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  4. f-stop

    f-stop Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Vancouver BC, Canada
    Alternatively if you keep your display set to miles, once in Canada the car's Speed Assist display system will automatically convert the kph speed limit signs here and display on the dash in equivalent mph. Converse is true when we drive in the US with display set to kilometers. Might be useful if you prefer to think in terms of your home units
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  5. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,456
    Location:
    Maine
    With 8.1 17.11.10 the last time I crossed into Canada a few weeks ago the dash was reporting the speed limit as if the signs were in mph but converting them to kph. 90kph on the sign was showing up as 144 on the dash. This had not been true on an earlier firmware but I recall reading here that this bug was also present when S was first released. Please post your experience and firmware version.
     
  6. GreenEV

    GreenEV EcoLimo Niagara

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Niagara-0n-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
    Th
    This speed limit posted sign seems to be a problem that many have! When I'm in my home country of Canada everything works fine. But when I cross the border into New York State and change to imperial the display shows a random readout. For example it'll show 34 when I'm on a highway with 55 signage. This has only happened recently, I believe it started after a recent firmware download. I'm currently on 8.1
     
  7. GreenEV

    GreenEV EcoLimo Niagara

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Niagara-0n-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
    Hi RedFiveZero: I operate EcoLimo Niagara (Tesla Wine Tours) with my MS85 and have a HPWC Stop by for a charge and a glass of wine while in Niagara if you like! Alan 289-690-3899 (talk or text)
     
    • Like x 4
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Love x 1
  8. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,456
    Location:
    Maine
    Which firmware version (sub-version of 8.1)? It's not random. The car reads the sign as it it were your native km then converts it automatically to local miles. On a previous firmware and trip from US to Canada after about 5 minutes the car automatically adjusted to the new dimensions, it read and reported signs in kph without me doing anything. If you are seeing this new bug please report it.
     
  9. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I have 8.1 17.11.10

    Thanks everyone for the heads up regarding the potential metric/imperial speed limit issue. I'll take extra care to ensure I understand with the limit is AND to fully comply :)
     
  10. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks for your gracious invitation! I'm going to be fairly busy.... but I *may* have some time available on Monday (the 8th). I'll be in touch, hope we can meet.
     
  11. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    Looks like that speed limit conversion problem is AP2 specific and due to some ignorant junior programmer who thinks that all rectangular speed limit signs are in miles per Hour while the circular red ring ones in the rest of the world are km per hour. Absolutely no knowledge of Canada and no testing. With idiot programmers like that how can we trust the rest of the software?
     
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  12. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Toronto
    Just think of issues like this when we are in the fully autonomous driving future!
     
  13. richrootes

    richrootes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    North Vancouver
    I saw it today in my AP1 model S - with the latest firmware
     
  14. Drone Flyer

    Drone Flyer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Canada
    That's not quite true! Tesla has done a number on us North Americans.
    Beware if you are coming from the States as your car won't read our signs correctly, being metric.
    Unfortunately, it will take a fatality here before Tesla fixes this!
     
  15. Drone Flyer

    Drone Flyer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Canada
    Which is 30 years away to be fully functional.
     

Share This Page