Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Hello from beyond the pond

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
When I first registered I was looking for a forum section like this, I believe it was introduced recently then. Anyhow...

I'd like to introduce myself a little, mostly because I consider myself an enthusiast of electric mobility.

I'm a student from Germany (Aachen, to be precise) and am currently working on my Bachelor thesis. I'll spare you the details, but it does involve electric cars and charging them ;)
When I first heared about Tesla I could hardly believe they have a vehicle for public sale that goes over 300km on a single charge and looks good while doing so. After some research I found that it is, in fact, the truth, and started following the company via online means. After stalking the forums there for a while I found this site, which seems to have a slightly more advanced forum than the original tesla site. I've spent hours here since.

The thought that an American car company could show "us Germans" how to do an electric car right stung a little at the start, but the signal Tesla is flaring for all the lazy carmakers out there will not go overlooked. I'm very glad the company exists and hope they will be succesful in the long run. Things look very good at the moment tho, reservations remain. (I'm also awesome at puns :redface:)

What motivates me personally for EVs is that whenever I'm stuck in a traffic jam, I can't help but look around and see hundreds of cars standing still, doing nothing and burning gas while doing so. I think to myself that if these were all EVs, there'd still be a traffic jam but we would at least not pollute while standing still...
Another motivation is probably that I study in electical power engineering, and more demand for electricity equals more demand for my kind :rolleyes: