Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Is it worth to buy a CSS adapter now?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

rlsd

Feb 12, 2023
San Diego
I am planning for a trip to Grand Canyon in Arizona. Should I buy a CSS adapter that costs $250 from Tesla for the trip? Amazon has some that cost $90 or $145 but reviews say that are not reliable. In one year this adapter is useless because most EV chargers have NACS connectors.

I would get a genuine Tesla adapter if your car is already setup for CCS charging. It's a bit more expensive if you have an older car and have to install the ECU upgrade ($350). I doubt that NACS adoption will go that fast and there can always be some older, out-of-the-way equipment that will not get updated.

I did my upgrade a few months ago and it was worth it to me. I charge at a local ChargePoint 50kW DCFC. I've been using a CHAdeMO adapter for the last 4+ years and the CCS adapter is much easier to deal with and has the same power transfer. I had already gathered all of the parts for the "bundle of wires" DIY upgrade but never got around to putting it in.

Reactions: Seattle and rlsd
Upvote 0
I would get a genuine Tesla adapter if your car is already setup for CCS charging. It's a bit more expensive if you have an older car and have to install the ECU upgrade ($350). I doubt that NACS adoption will go that fast and there can always be some older, out-of-the-way equipment that will not get updated.

I did my upgrade a few months ago and it was worth it to me. I charge at a local ChargePoint 50kW DCFC. I've been using a CHAdeMO adapter for the last 4+ years and the CCS adapter is much easier to deal with and has the same power transfer. I had already gathered all of the parts for the "bundle of wires" DIY upgrade but never got around to putting it in.
Yes, my car is CSS enabled.

Upvote 0
Yes, my car is CSS enabled.