TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Is there a way to reset just the browser?

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by jtdiddy, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. jtdiddy

    jtdiddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    my browser sometimes does nothing or is frozen but the rest of the MCU is fine.

    is there a way to just reset the browser without resetting the entire MCU?
     
  2. bob_p

    bob_p Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,436
    Other than going to a different website, there doesn't appear to be much control over the browser - and you'll likely need to do a console processor reset.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. McManX

    McManX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Just pull out your iPad instead
     
  4. GOPJEW

    GOPJEW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    Unfortunately no - the browser issue is a well known issue @ Tesla - was very disappointed that in last update it did NOT fix it...
     
  5. Milin1609

    Milin1609 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Kingsland,GA
    Browser on Tesla's are literally useless. Once in a while, if you have patience, you can use it. Else, it is a joke.......
     
  6. P85_DA

    P85_DA Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    CA
    @jtdiddy ...you are most likely on MCU2 which has more issues ...MCU1 is just a full center console reboot and usually solves browser issues ...but generally browser sux I keep mine permanently on Waze page ;)
     
  7. GoCanes

    GoCanes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I have an MCU1 and it’s been stuck on the same website since the latest update (2018.21.9 75bdbc11). Hopefully the next update will offer a cure - i’ve tried rebooting several time. But then, i rarily use the browser...
     
  8. BigMskiman

    BigMskiman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    772
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    I'm MCU1 also, but a dozen yahoo stock ticker pages load for me every morning, not fast but nothing like stuck. You may have another issue.

    old |v2018.18.2|AP2,PUP|
    new |v2018.21.9|AP2,PUP|
     
    • Helpful x 1
  9. Peteski

    Peteski Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,456
    Location:
    UK, Milton Keynes
    My browser works okay on this update, so you may have some other issue here. It’s still a crap browser, but certainly usable if required.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC