Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model S late 2016 75D isolation fault story

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

I am newbies here, would like to share a nightmare isolation fault story on my friend's Tesla Model S, he purchased as second hand and have been running good over last year for over 20k km..

It's the first time I mess with the electric car, while I have been DIYing petrol car for over 10 years. Thanks for this forum providing huge amount of valuable information on electric vechicle.

The story started with 2 months ago, my friend called me that his tesla is NO START symptom, it was isolation faults, then he towed to service center. what the service center said there are some error code stored in AC module and Battery Heater module.

Interestingly the service center is unable to confirm it is the root cause, and asking for additional $750 for in-depth checking by removal of battery.

Then this car is towed to my DIY playground, and then I eventually encountered the term: ISOLATION, as it will never exist in 12V petrol car world.
WhatsApp Image 2023-09-29 at 01.11.25.jpeg

I purchased a fluke isolation meter and perform all the testing for
- PTC heater (+ve -ve are in good isolation)
- battery heater (+ve -ve are in good isolation)
- DC-DC Invertor (+ve -ve are in good isolation)
- AC pump (+ve -ve sometimes good, but one time bad, only got 6Mohm for both HV cable with 250V testing voltage)
WhatsApp Image 2023-09-29 at 01.11.24 (1).jpeg

Then I was stucked at that moment, and then we attempted to recall what the service center say, we purchased a brand new AC PUMP and Battery Heater to give a shot.
WhatsApp Image 2023-09-29 at 01.11.24 (2).jpeg
Unfortunately the replacement is done, and the car is still NO start, same ISOATION faults occurs.

Then I purchase 1 day access of toolbox 3 to see what is going on actually.