Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Scheduled Charging/Departure fail

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey all
I've been using Scheduled Charging for 8 months with no issue. Since the latest update, which includes Scheduled Departure, neither mode worked over two nights. I've read that it works for some owners but not others. Some have suggested this may be caused by specific conditions/circumstances so I thought I'd post a thread to include information that may determine if it's due to specific cars/chargers/environment.

I normally set the charging schedule to begin charging at 2:00am. Always worked fine. On the charging screen it shows "Charging will start at 2:00am" under the "Schedule" button icon.

Night 1. I set the Schedule to: Depart at 5:15am, All Week, no preconditioning.
I noticed on the charging screen there was nothing below the "Schedule" button icon to show schedule time.
The car didn't charge overnight.

Night 2. I thought I'd go back to how I've been doing it, and set it to: Start Charging at 2:00am.
Below the "Schedule" button icon it showed "Charging will start at 2:00am"
Again the car didn't charge overnight.
Now, even with a scheduled start time set, the car begins charging immediately.

I'm going to try rebooting the MCU today to see if that helps.

So here's the info specific to my circumstances:
Time Zone: Australian Eastern Standard Time
Car: 2015 Model S
Onboard charger: 24kW Dual charger upgrade
Charger: Tesla wall connector.
Power supply: 3 phase 415V
Overnight Temperature: 14 °C (57 °F)