TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tipping your ceramic coat installer?

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by tagpats, Apr 4, 2018.

1. tagpats

tagpats Member

I posted this on the Model 3 forum, but given the number of S owners that have coated their cars, I thought I’d post here to see if anyone can share their experience.

My car is getting paint correction, a front wrap and ceramic coated. My detailer is a one man operation, but I believe has one assistant that works with him. I don’t know whether he is helping on my job or not. I tend to tip for most service related things, but this is my first time having this kind of work done and don’t know what is customary. I’m inclined to give something to at least help out the assistant, but don’t want to offend the owner/detailer who set the price for the job.

2. isjka

isjka Member

I just had Xpel on the hood, paint correction, and CQuartz on the entire car. Total was $2,900. I asked the owner if I tipped the guys $100 if that would be cool and he said yeah for sure. It’s a long job for sure, so hopefully someone takes care of them from an hourly perspective.

3. timvracer

timvracer Member

I tipped my guys $200 on a $2400 job. I wasn't sure either, but it paid off... I had several small maintenance items done after and they did it all very willingly and for free.

4. thegooch49

thegooch49 Member