Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Which PG&E rate plan should I choose after going solar?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am a novice when it comes to understanding benefits of different PG&E rate plans. I have EVA plan since 2013. My solar installation is scheduled for next week and I expect the system will be turned on maybe within three weeks from now. I am in Sacramento CA area with lots of sun light throughout the year and I am not going for Powerwall at this time. My system should meet 120% of my current demand according to Tesla Solar.
Which PG&E rate plan should I choose when my solar system is turned on? Stay with EVA or select another TOU plan?
Also, my current electricity generation comes from Pioneer community electric. Should I say with Pioneer or switch back to PG&E? Thank you!

EVA is the best for solar since you get high price net metering from 2pm to 9pm and partial peak from 7am to 2pm. Summer solar production window sweet spot is from 10am to 4pm, so most of you production will be in partial peak or peak. And if you are charging your car off peak then it is likely the best plan regardless of solar.

They are changing the EVA rate schedule to be less friendly to solar, but you will be grandfathered with the existing time bands. I think the grandfathering is until July 2022.

Note that after the new EVA plan is implemented, you will be limited to 8x baseline consumption. Grandfathering doesn't protect against this. Once you go above 8x, you will be forced to move off of EVA.

Reactions: digitalFan