Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2020 Tesla Model X if buying used will FSD & Free Supercharging transfer to me?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Newbie here so would appreciate any information that can be provided.
The current owner purchased Full Self Driving when he purchased in December 2020. I want to know if Full Self Driving is transferrable to a new purchaser? It also has free lifetime supercharging. Is the free lifetime supercharging transferrable to a new purchaser?
Any other relevant information that I should know when buying a used Tesla Model X from a private party.
Thank you.

You don't say if it was purchased *new* in 2020: It's a 2020-model-year car, right? Also you should explicitly clarify if the only people involved in any sale in the car's lifetime are private parties or if Tesla or even a non Tesla dealer was involved *at any point*.

First rule in these situations is assume the worst and do not let the possible existence of these perks influence sale price. Certainly Tesla's trade-in calculations assign zero value to both FUSC and FSD, not least because Tesla will immediately strip both before reselling except on a few rare pre-2017 cars:

The document that determines this is the original MVPA (Motor Vehicle Purchase Agreement) Tesla issued at the time they sold the car to the first buyer. If a feature is explicitly enumerated on it, it's part of the car and can't be stripped. If not, it was probably a licensed feature that will eventually be deactivated when Tesla finds out the current owner isn't the guy who paid for it, and/or a temporary inducement to close the sale with the original purchaser but is generally non-transferable, despite common sense connotations of words like 'full' , 'unlimited' or even 'lifetime'.

Last edited: