Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

22 MY LR, radar or vision? Will my radar be turned off and conversion to vision or do I keep my radar? Is it done by update?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

sandi629

Supporting Member
Mar 13, 2023
NJ
Is this done by an update and if so, can you go backwards and turn off? What update is it? I’ve had other cars with “pro pilot” and they’ve been great, think they used cameras. I’m new to Tesla and reading all kinds of pros and cons for both radar and vision. Any pros out there with advice?

Is this done by an update and if so, can you go backwards and turn off? What update is it? I’ve had other cars with “pro pilot” and they’ve been great, think they used cameras. I’m new to Tesla and reading all kinds of pros and cons for both radar and vision. Any pros out there with advice?
From Tesla: "In 2021, we began our transition to Tesla Vision by removing radar from Model 3 and Model Y, followed by Model S and Model X in 2022."

Your 22 MYLR likely do not have radar.

And if it still does have the radar it's most likely have been disabled by earlier software update.

Reactions: sandi629
the 2022 MY uses ultrasonic sound sensors (USS) for close distance and vision (cameras) for longer range information.
there is no radar. radar was only in very early production MY cars and phased out in favor of cameras for FSD, AP, etc. applications.

there's no retrofit to radar available.
radar is rumored to be returned to the MY with the next generation processor (HW4).
No one really knows when that might happen, but rumors seem to indicate summer.
No retrofit for current production (or earlier) seems to be possible because the form factor of the new proc board is very different than current HW3 etc.

there's also no retrofit available to return USS to the 2023 MY.