TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

beam.nokia.com on the tesla screen/webbrowser?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Hybris, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Hybris

    Hybris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    Sweden
    As i dont have my car yet.

    How do Nokia Beamer look on the tesla screen? (you need a lumia phone with the black update and install nokia beamer app)

    full phone screen? apps? waze with autorefresh in a splitscreen viiew?

    Still one month for the car and curious...
     
  2. pwillemse78

    pwillemse78 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    nuenen
    Did not get it working yet... Photobeamer does work...
     
  3. Hybris

    Hybris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    Sweden
    did you install the black update? check under extra info on the phone. should say black. its mandatory for the nokia Beamer app. I have it working on my 920 but no Tesla to test on yet... ;-)
     
  4. pwillemse78

    pwillemse78 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    nuenen
    Yes. Did get it to work, just not on the Tesla, it scans the qr code but the screens remains empty despite shaking the device...
     
  5. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm downloading the black update now. What is this beamer app supposed to do with the car?
     
  6. Hybris

    Hybris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    Sweden
    you should be able to present the phone Ui direclty on the webbrowser including single apps. Maybe the webbrowser is not fully HTLM5 compatible? funny if not as it works on TVs and a.lot of other devices
     
  7. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Seattle
  8. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ok, got it installed and it basically sends up images to a server which are displayed at an URL (no audio). When set to 'auto update' it sends about 2 or 3 frames a second.

    I'll try with the car later tonight.

    https://beam.nokia.com/
     
  9. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Seattle
    Does NOT work in the car with 5.8.4. Browser does establish a socket connection, displays a QR code, which the phone recognizes and is sent to the appropriate URL, but nothing shows up even when forcing a refresh of the page. I'm on WiFi as well.
     
  10. Hybris

    Hybris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    Sweden
    sad... the webbrowser seem to need some updates...
     

Share This Page