TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Connectivity: What do delivered Production cars have for Wifi and 3G connectivity?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Francis Lau, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. ken830

    ken830 Model S (Res#P12,447)

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    837
    Location:
    San Carlos, CA
    I'm more concerned with navigation without opting for a data plan.
     
  2. goaliemanshark

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    I was told I should 3G on my production car for about three months for free.
     
  3. gregincal

    gregincal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,135
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    If you get Nav (the tech package) that doesn't require a data plan since it has offline maps (with 7 years of updates)
     
  4. mittelhauser

    mittelhauser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    You guys are seriously buying a $60-$100k electric car with the most amazing console panel around and going to worry about the cost of the 3G? wow.
     
  5. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,231
    With price unknown, yes.
     
  6. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
    ...but, the navigation package doesn't have a POI database; you have to know the actual street address. This is a bizarre gap; even with 3G enabled, there are lots of places with poor connectivity.
     
  7. contaygious

    contaygious Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Marina, San Francisco
    Having the Internet now it will be hard to not sign up for the data plan. I thought plugging in my phone would be a nice solution, but now I'm thinking I don't want to plug and unplug when getting in and out anymore just to hear slacker or see my map. Hopefully the price can be low.
     
  8. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

    ItsNotAboutTheMoney Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Maine
    Part of the reason some of these people can buy a Model S is that they don't pay for stuff they neither want nor need.

    I'm sure many of the concerns are that they don't want to pay for a plan for the car when they can just tether instead.
     
  9. Francis Lau

    Francis Lau P-1456

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I am wondering if voice commands will not work without Internet connectivity since I heard that it leverages Google's services in the cloud. Anyone knows?
     
  10. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,538
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Correct. Requires connectivity.
     
  11. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
    @Francis Lau: That's correct; you need connectivity to use voice commands.
     
  12. Francis Lau

    Francis Lau P-1456

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    With such loss of functionality, I hope they support plugging in my phone or connecting to my 4G mifi hotspot device. I already have 4 iPhone data plans, 1 iPad data plan and 1 Mifi data plan in my household, I don't need or want to pay for another one :) Especially for probably pretty light use in the car.
     
  13. qwk

    qwk Model S P2681

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,806
  14. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
  15. goaliemanshark

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    It's really not hard. Go to an IP search and it will tell you it's running off an AT&T tower. I did...
     
  16. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    My teenagers aren't home from school yet ....
     
  17. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA
    can I please just connect my iPhone WiFi hotspot to the 17 inch screen

    I am with you. My phone has a data plan and is a WiFi hot spot, so can I please just connect my iPhone WiFi hotspot to the 17 inch screen and be done with it???
     
  18. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    That's what I am banking on. I live in BFE and have been using one of the iPhones in the house and plan to use its unlimited in the car once the freebie gets cut off. I am hoping that they will be able to operationalize that and I will just tuck the phone away somewhere. It's 3G, but that's all I really want for now.
     
  19. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA

    Do me (us) a favor. Post it when you find out.
     
  20. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    Will do ... right now, I am quite happy with the 3G that is in the car (at least for traffic, and web browsing ... I can't use it for slacker 'cause I am cheap). But once it shuts off, I will give it a try. If you don't see anything posted here, check my thread (link in the footer).
     

Share This Page