TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Connectivity: What do delivered Production cars have for Wifi and 3G connectivity?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Francis Lau, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. ken830

    ken830 Model S (Res#P12,447)

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    881
    Location:
    San Carlos, CA
    I'm more concerned with navigation without opting for a data plan.
     
  2. goaliemanshark

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    I was told I should 3G on my production car for about three months for free.
     
  3. gregincal

    gregincal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,880
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    If you get Nav (the tech package) that doesn't require a data plan since it has offline maps (with 7 years of updates)
     
  4. mittelhauser

    mittelhauser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    You guys are seriously buying a $60-$100k electric car with the most amazing console panel around and going to worry about the cost of the 3G? wow.
     
  5. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16,097
    With price unknown, yes.
     
  6. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,841
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
    ...but, the navigation package doesn't have a POI database; you have to know the actual street address. This is a bizarre gap; even with 3G enabled, there are lots of places with poor connectivity.
     
  7. contaygious

    contaygious Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Location:
    Marina, San Francisco
    Having the Internet now it will be hard to not sign up for the data plan. I thought plugging in my phone would be a nice solution, but now I'm thinking I don't want to plug and unplug when getting in and out anymore just to hear slacker or see my map. Hopefully the price can be low.
     
  8. ItsNotAboutTheMoney

    ItsNotAboutTheMoney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5,475
    Location:
    Maine
    Part of the reason some of these people can buy a Model S is that they don't pay for stuff they neither want nor need.

    I'm sure many of the concerns are that they don't want to pay for a plan for the car when they can just tether instead.
     
  9. Francis Lau

    Francis Lau P-1456

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I am wondering if voice commands will not work without Internet connectivity since I heard that it leverages Google's services in the cloud. Anyone knows?
     
  10. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Correct. Requires connectivity.
     
  11. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,841
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
    @Francis Lau: That's correct; you need connectivity to use voice commands.
     
  12. Francis Lau

    Francis Lau P-1456

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    With such loss of functionality, I hope they support plugging in my phone or connecting to my 4G mifi hotspot device. I already have 4 iPhone data plans, 1 iPad data plan and 1 Mifi data plan in my household, I don't need or want to pay for another one :) Especially for probably pretty light use in the car.
     
  13. qwk

    qwk Model S P2681

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859
  14. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
  15. goaliemanshark

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    It's really not hard. Go to an IP search and it will tell you it's running off an AT&T tower. I did...
     
  16. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    My teenagers aren't home from school yet ....
     
  17. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA
    can I please just connect my iPhone WiFi hotspot to the 17 inch screen

    I am with you. My phone has a data plan and is a WiFi hot spot, so can I please just connect my iPhone WiFi hotspot to the 17 inch screen and be done with it???
     
  18. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    That's what I am banking on. I live in BFE and have been using one of the iPhones in the house and plan to use its unlimited in the car once the freebie gets cut off. I am hoping that they will be able to operationalize that and I will just tuck the phone away somewhere. It's 3G, but that's all I really want for now.
     
  19. montgom626

    montgom626 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    USA

    Do me (us) a favor. Post it when you find out.
     
  20. sublimaze1

    sublimaze1 8Dec2012 / Leeroy Jenkins

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Basin City, TX
    Will do ... right now, I am quite happy with the 3G that is in the car (at least for traffic, and web browsing ... I can't use it for slacker 'cause I am cheap). But once it shuts off, I will give it a try. If you don't see anything posted here, check my thread (link in the footer).
     

Share This Page