TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Ford Bows to Pressure, Revamps MyFord Touch

Discussion in 'Cars and Transportation' started by Mycroft, Nov 7, 2011.

1. Mycroft

Mycroft Life happens

Fox News: Ford Bows to Pressure, Revamps Highly-Criticized Infotainment System - Nov 7, 2011

Hopefully Tesla's programmers will do a better job and be MUCH faster with the updates!

2. Leafer

Leafer New Member

Fix Or Repair Daily

3. ckessel

ckessel Active Member

I'm rather concerned about the Tesla touchscreen myself. I'm a programmer, I'm passionate about the craft, it's history, lessons learned, etc. I went back for my Master's on software process/culture/design/etc, and it's just the norm that software schedules are badly underestimated for all sorts of reasons. I really hope they're going for a very small set of must have functionality with a long list of "nice to haves" that can be cut as needed in the initial release, but added later. Given everything goes through that touch screen, it need to be rock solid...and no 1.0 software release ever is.

4. Doug_G

Doug_G Lead Moderator

Found On Road Dead.

As I've mentioned elsewhere, Ford is on my lifetime black list, due to selling me a total lemon. :cursing: In the first (and last) 18 months I owned that pile of junk, the transmission disintegrated (week 1!), fuel injection system failed (stranded on the highway), catalytic converter heat shield broke loose (roared so loud it scared pedestrians), front sway bar fell off (wtf?!?), electric locks failed, gas pedal failed, engine oil leaked, gas tank leaked, rain leaked into the cabin (seriously could these guys seal anything?), and, well, you get the idea. I took a bath and traded the thing after 18 months because I just couldn't take it any more!

5. AnOutsider

AnOutsider S532 # XS27