Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Gen 3 wall connector plug to car

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Gen 3 wall connector plug to car has plastic pin inside one of the connectors that broke off so the charging cable won't connect to the car. I can charge at a supercharger with their plug. Have tried to contact Tesla service via roadside assistance and they hung up; via text to service through app and got message back to call - Pacific time only so I guess we only can get service M-F during Pacific time work hours - seems to be a problem for a car company - I do drive at other times! The wall connector is under warranty and I have been asking if I can get a new plug, a new cable, or if I need the whole wall unit. Can't seem to get an answer - getting run around as to who deals with this. I have been using this unit and plug for 2 1/2 years. Seems like such an essential part shouldn't be cheap plastic! Anyone else had this issue?

It should be covered under the 4 year (48 month) limited warranty (for personal use, else 12 months for commercial use) for the Gen3 Wall Connector.

I would first open a service request in the Tesla App. Provide a photo of the broken insulator on the Tesla charging connector with the service ticket. If that does not get a response, there is always Warranty Dispute Resultion (see below.)

Tesla Gen3 Wall Connector Installation Manual (See Page 42):

Wall Connector Installation Manual

Warranty Information
Dispute Resolution

Tesla, Inc
3500 Deer Creek Road
Palo Alto, California
Attention: Charging Equipment Warranty Claims
Phone number: 1-877-79-TESLA (1-877-798-3752)