Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

High beams always on…

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’ve notice recently that every Tesla I see has there high beams on. Not sure if there is a system problem or if people are just leaving them on all the time? I drive for a living and find it very dangerous on other peoples vision of the road. Not sure Tesla owners know this or care? Well this is my attempt to start a discussion and find out why? Thank you for reading and hope for safer roads.

• Disagree
Reactions: teko and lowtek
While it may be you are seeing Teslas with high beams on, I notice all new cars are about the same, not just Teslas. They are bright! Perhaps older cars have reduced brightness over time or newer cars just have brighter headlights. Haven't noticed Teslas much different than others (and in the Bay area, we are Tesla central).

Tesla cars have an auto high-beam feature like a lot of cars today. I never use it myself. They are supposed to turn off when seeing an oncoming car's headlights.

I don't believe it's Tesla issue. I have had people honking their horns at me in the fast few years when I had the normal lights on with my Alfa Romeo and Jeep Rubicon, and Audi Q8. It's the new headlights for pretty much all new vehicles.

Tesla cars have an auto high-beam feature like a lot of cars today. I never use it myself. They are supposed to turn off when seeing an oncoming car's headlights.
I use this always and haven’t seen any issues so far. The switch over does work flawlessly. What I have noticed is these new matrix LED headlights (on new cars) does have quite bright lights even on low beam settings but the blinding does fade if the car gets closer.